SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Help! Rigid body resetting back to origin..alllways??

Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge Please post in this section ONLY if your question doesn't fit in anywhere else on the forum, or if you're not sure which section it's relevant to. We also have Free streaming trial available.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
25-11-2003, 07:26 PM   #1
lesia
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 10
Help! Rigid body resetting back to origin..alllways??
Hey
I posted on another forum but everybody seems to be sleeping and since this site is the nicest looking site I figure this is where i'm going to get my answer:

I'm fairly new to maya 5.0,
when creating a _really_ simple polygon cube and moving it away from the origin (0,0,0) .... every time i try to make it either an active or passive rigid body it resets back to the origin (and since you can't change it once it's set...) ....this happens EVEN if i set x y z values for Initial Position. Please this is driving me crazy, what did I do wrong? I know it wasn't _always_ doing this.

Thanks so much,
- Lesia
  Reply with quote
25-11-2003, 07:35 PM   #2
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
maybe set a key at the position and then turn it into a rigid body? but I'm not sure that will work. IU just had a go and it didnt do it to me.... make sure that set initial position is off is all i can suggest.

Alan
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
  Reply with quote
25-11-2003, 08:07 PM   #3
Pony
Subscriber
 
Pony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: with PonysGirl
Posts: 2,573
I would sujest falowing one of the dynamic's walkthroughs that is in the help files with maya. If the help is anything like it is in 4.5 thin it has a lesson about rigged bodys.. probably in the instant maya stuff. If things don't work right buy falowing that thin it could be a bigger problem than some simple setting is off.. which is often a problem for me, giving the complexity of maya.
  Reply with quote
25-11-2003, 08:22 PM   #4
lesia
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 10
yeah the keyframing works, however i didnt want to have to do that because i'd like the project to be a competely keyframeless animation.but i'm sure one keyframe on frame 1 will be okay

Regarding one setting being off, that's what i think it is. I must have done/clicked something and now it's always resetting....I know this because when I did go back and do the mayabasics tutorial on rigid bodies , it didnt work how it is supposed to (and how it did the first time I ran the tutorial a month ago...it reset half of the planks back to the origin!

So now I try figure out what setting it is that causes this.

Thanks for the replies so far !

- lesia
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
rigid body simulation farbtopf Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 4 01-04-2006 02:52 PM
Rigid Body question (blastcode) r303 Dynamics & Special Effects 2 02-03-2006 10:50 AM
Rigid Body Motor Boat Shadeblade Dynamics & Special Effects 5 19-11-2005 06:07 PM
help with rigid body dynamics. grunze Dynamics & Special Effects 2 05-02-2003 05:47 AM
Random initial spin to active rigid body. grunze Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 3 03-02-2003 11:16 PM