SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Maya Questions / Dynamics & Special Effects / time node

Dynamics & Special Effects Maya Particles, nDynamics, Fluids, Rigid Bodies & General VFX

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
02-09-2008, 02:36 PM   #1
hi2all
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 11
time node
Hi everyone.
I need to slow down particle motion for an animation, but I don't know how to achieve that effect. I found a thread on creative cow's forum about slowing down hair animation, but at a certain point it says that the time node must be duped with defaul parameters. How can I duplicate the time node (or create a new one)?
Thanks in advance.
  Reply with quote
02-09-2008, 10:38 PM   #2
ragecgi
Registered User
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Hello hi2all, welcome to SM

The best/easiest way I've found to slow down/speed up any dynamic simulation, is to bake the sim, then make it a clip in the Trax editor so you can slow it down, or speed it up easily from there by stretching/shortening the layer/clip.
You can even do complex "bullet-time" effects easily using the Trax Editor as well

So:

1. Select your emitter.
2. Go to EDIT > KEYS > Bake Simulation
-Make sure your time is set correct here.
-For example, you can bake the whole timeline, or even just a small part of it, etc.
3. Once your simulation/keys are baked, select them in the Graph Editor.
4. Then go to the Trax Editor (found in the Animation editors flyout)
5. Then, with your keys selected, click on the left-most icon to create a "Clip" out of your whole particle simulation.

Then its all a matter of reading the Trax Editor help to learn what you can do with clips as far as time stretching or shortening goes

Good luck!
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
  Reply with quote
03-09-2008, 11:03 AM   #3
hi2all
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 11
Your method works perfectly, thanks for your help. :bow:
Anyway I'm still curious about how the method described in creative cow's thread works. I also have found a similar suggestion in another cgtalk thread.
  Reply with quote
03-09-2008, 12:08 PM   #4
ragecgi
Registered User
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Well, what they are talking about is going into the "Hypergraph" and detatching/editing the time node in the hypergraph node-based view.

So if you select your emitter, and open the Hypergraph-Connections, you will see a TIME node to the left of the flow for your selected item.

This is the global frame time node. It manages the flow of time (in frames) during an animation.

There is one time node per graph (selected objects) and the graph gets all of its time information from its time node.

I'm not a big fan if this technique, as you do not have the tactile feel for visually stretching, or shortening your time via the Trax tool, but some people find it usefull for certain situations where Global time is not a factor in thier overall animation
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
  Reply with quote
04-09-2008, 09:43 AM   #5
hi2all
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 11
I see.
Well, even if I understood the concept, I was wondering how is it possible to duplicate or to create a time node. The duplicate command doesn't work (I got an error message that says it isn't an object), and when I try to edit it, maya says it's a read only node.
Anyway, once again thanks for your help.
  Reply with quote
04-09-2008, 09:54 AM   #6
ragecgi
Registered User
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Honestly, I would have to check the help regarding this as well, as I've never messed with the Time nodes.

I've just never had a need to as the Trax Editor is much more user friendly in my opinion, than messing with the Time node itself.

Sorry I couldn't help you more, but maybe there is someone that can chime-in that has messed with the Time node itself successfully and can lead you in the direction you want to go
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
  Reply with quote
15-08-2011, 11:49 PM   #7
radvfx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1
creatNode time;
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Portal light drastically increasing render time ashervisalis Maya Technical Issues 0 27-04-2016 04:29 AM
Particle Incand Mapper node? lori_hunter Dynamics & Special Effects 8 27-03-2006 08:03 AM
time delay hi2all Programming 2 15-02-2006 03:18 AM
again lip animation! Reverse node and connection?! hah?! mansonps2 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 0 18-04-2005 03:59 PM
Maya 5.0.1 Problem: MentalRay won't load neoarcadia Maya Technical Issues 3 30-12-2003 02:05 AM