SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Maya Questions / Maya Technical Issues / Maya scene file size limitation?

Maya Technical Issues Post all your interface and configuration related problems with Maya software here.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
04-02-2010, 11:15 AM   #1
GDMaster
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 9
Maya scene file size limitation?
I have just replaced my motherboard (Gigabyte UD5 to Asus P6TD) - and now none of my larger Maya files will open.
I have trouble with opening .mb files which are larger than 150Mb. Maya 2009 and Maya 2010 both read about 78% of the file then jump out and give the "Send Error Report" box.
I have the objects from one of these 150Mb files in separate files, and all of these open without problem. It does seem that file size only is the cause.
I run an i7 920 system with 6Gb DDR3 RAM - so the hardware should not be the culprit here.

Does anyone else have trouble with larger files? Is there a size limit??
Any way around this problem? I have tried to import the file into a new empty scene, with the same Maya jump-out.

Any help greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance.
  Reply with quote
04-02-2010, 06:37 PM   #2
Joopson
Registered User
 
Joopson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 2,314
Could the scene have been corrupted?

Try making another scene of a similar size, save it, then try to open it.

I would guess that, indeed, it is corrupted.

And there is certainly no size limit.
__________________
Environment Artist @ Plastic Piranha
www.joopson.com
  Reply with quote
05-02-2010, 09:23 PM   #3
bendingiscool
Subscriber
 
bendingiscool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: London
Posts: 567
As Joopson mentioned there is certainly no size limit, most of our scenes at work are at least that big.

They sound corrupted I'm afraid, you should probably save .ma(maya ascii) files instead in the future, they are far more secure and less likely to corrupt

cheers,
Chris
  Reply with quote
06-02-2010, 05:40 AM   #4
GDMaster
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 9
Thanks for the replies. I've tried the files on another machine with the same result, so I must conclude that they are corrupted.
I can retrieve most objects from other scenes - and will save them as .ma files...

Are there any tutorials on editing .ma files? Are they made up of MEL?
  Reply with quote
06-02-2010, 09:51 AM   #5
bendingiscool
Subscriber
 
bendingiscool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: London
Posts: 567
No, they are exactly the same as .ma files in how you use them etc, the only difference is you save your scene with .ma instead of .mb at the end.

cheers,
Chris
  Reply with quote
07-02-2010, 06:40 AM   #6
NextDesign
Technical Director
 
NextDesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,988
Yes, ma files (Maya Ascii) are files that are made up of mel commands. They are ascii, so the file sizes are much larger, but they can (usually) move between Maya releases, and you are more likely to be able to salvage things from them if a file gets corrupted.
__________________
Imagination is more important than knowledge.
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maya 2015 Error loading scene Awad96 Maya Technical Issues 5 05-09-2015 03:24 PM
Mental Ray crashing scene? JustMcCollum Maya Technical Issues 7 10-05-2013 04:15 PM
changing the "Quick help" window size in the maya 2012 script editor. Jouri Programming 3 27-11-2011 06:15 AM
File Transfer (maya scene), how? dubai3d Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 1 09-11-2008 02:08 AM
fur rendering failed????? olivermagno Maya Materials & Textures 2 21-05-2003 01:36 AM