SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / converting VRML 1 files to MAYA files

Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge Please post in this section ONLY if your question doesn't fit in anywhere else on the forum, or if you're not sure which section it's relevant to. We also have Free streaming trial available.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
30-06-2004, 08:47 AM   #1
jcnoveron
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 15
converting VRML 1 files to MAYA files
Hi. I am using a chemistry program that generates VRML 1.0 files and I wish to render them in MAYA. I tried to follow the instructions on using the wrl2a program but had no success. It doesn't do anything.

For example, where do I have to have the VRML file saved in order for wrl2a to find it?

I also tried to convert VRML 2.0 files with no success.

See attached water_file in VRML 1.0

Thank you guys!
  Reply with quote
02-07-2004, 12:35 AM   #2
jcnoveron
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 15
Still no solution for using MAYA's own VRML converter (wrl2a).

I found a moutiformat converter online: 3D Win 4.
http://www.tb-software.com/

But, I still see something funny on the images. I will post questions on it later.
  Reply with quote
06-07-2004, 07:44 AM   #3
jcnoveron
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 15
Anybody with info on VRML's and converting them to MAYA?

The 3d format converters have the draw back of generating strange lines across the objects. See attachments:

Figure 1 looks ok.

But look at Figure 2. The lines across the object should not be there and I can't get rid of them by any means that I have tried.

Thanks guys for any suggestion!
JC
Attached Images
 
  Reply with quote
09-07-2004, 07:25 AM   #4
jcnoveron
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 15
Is this site working? There is no replies to a few of my posts. It feels that I am talking with myself.
  Reply with quote
09-07-2004, 09:31 AM   #5
mister.p
Subscriber
 
mister.p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: sweden
Posts: 79
I'm sorry I can't help you but hang in there buddy
  Reply with quote
09-07-2004, 09:35 AM   #6
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Quote:
Originally posted by jcnoveron
Is this site working? There is no replies to a few of my posts. It feels that I am talking with myself.
That's because you are asking a very specialised question I'm afraid. It's not something that a lot of people on these boards have had a lot of experience with (from what I've seen in my time here). You're question may be better suited to a VRML board.

But as Mister.p said hang in there you may get lucky and someone knows.

Alan

EDIT

After re-reading your post, can you not export any other type of data from your chemistry program? e.g. and obj file or something similar? Or why not just model it in maya? It's just tubes and cylinders right?
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rendering Problem NoxRequiem Lighting & Rendering 6 01-04-2011 09:39 AM
maya UV snapshot -1 to 1 UVs space. pixel_poison Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 6 28-06-2010 04:00 AM
Converting Lightwave tut 2 Maya junkyBob Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 5 07-03-2005 01:33 AM
Is there a way to make jpg/tiff files out of Maya shaders? LordPhobos Maya Materials & Textures 2 30-07-2004 08:55 AM