SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Problem with converting back to subdiv

Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge Please post in this section ONLY if your question doesn't fit in anywhere else on the forum, or if you're not sure which section it's relevant to. We also have Free streaming trial available.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
17-08-2006, 04:11 PM   #1
Husam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 65
Problem with converting back to subdiv
Hey, I'm working on a object I am converting between polygon and subdiv all the time, but when I was converting it back this last time something strange happened, and it doesn't look like I'm able to find out how to fix it. So if anyone could help, it would be great.

On the first picture of my attached image file, it's a subdiv, on the second it's a polygon, and on the third you see the problem when it's converted back to a subdiv again.
  Reply with quote
17-08-2006, 04:12 PM   #2
Husam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 65
Forgot to attach the image file :blush:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	mayaproblem.gif
Views:	59
Size:	121.4 KB
ID:	30214  
  Reply with quote
17-08-2006, 05:41 PM   #3
Redmer
Subscriber
 
Redmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Holland
Posts: 139
make sure that you have in subd to poly options that you want to convert to the lowest in this case that would be vertices and a level of 0
then it should turn back nicely
__________________
------------------- WIP ------------------


--------------- Finished Work -------------
Apache Helicopter
Armoured Personal Unit
Apache Finished
Ferrari 360
Mech
  Reply with quote
17-08-2006, 06:33 PM   #4
pbman
Subscriber
 
pbman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: London
Posts: 1,135
did u undo the convert via ctrl+z or click covert s 2 p
cos sometimes wen u do undo it goes wrong
__________________
Now at SMU doing BSc 3D Computer Animation so its hard to get on here
My wire render tut http://forum.simplymaya.com/showthre...threadid=20973
  Reply with quote
18-08-2006, 01:12 AM   #5
Husam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 65
:blush:

I found out I had to press 3 to display the smooth version again after converting back. Strange I think, but I should have thought about that before! Thanks for trying to help.
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ferrari 360 Mirror and Attach SubDiv Problem MrYeti Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 1 04-09-2013 05:40 AM
Problem when switching to soft selection mode Skalman Maya Technical Issues 2 23-04-2012 08:50 PM
modeling face - convert poly to subdiv problem puashey Simply Maya Tutorials 4 23-12-2006 06:01 AM
Converting Problem mgreen Maya Technical Issues 3 29-03-2005 08:14 AM
subdiv, poly problem BIG PROBLEM Briko03 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 7 27-03-2005 11:42 PM