SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Maya Personal Edition

Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge Please post in this section ONLY if your question doesn't fit in anywhere else on the forum, or if you're not sure which section it's relevant to. We also have Free streaming trial available.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 Last »
 
Thread Tools
24-06-2008, 04:54 PM   #1
RabbidWolf
Registered User
 
RabbidWolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 3
Maya Personal Edition
I can't afford a $3000 program, so I saw this for free on the site and jumped on it. What my question is, can you make decent models with this free version. I've seen some pretty awesome models on this site, does this have the features to make something complicated? Or would I have to buy the program if I wanted to get serious about modeling?
  Reply with quote
24-06-2008, 05:17 PM   #2
Jr.Who
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I don't think there's any limitations to modeling in the PLE.
  Reply with quote
24-06-2008, 05:37 PM   #3
mmoore5553
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,043
no limitations at all that i know of ..just stupid watermark all over your render
  Reply with quote
24-06-2008, 06:39 PM   #4
Joopson
Registered User
 
Joopson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 2,314
So if you are getting serious, you probably should buy it. the watermark makes the renders look like crap.
__________________
Environment Artist @ Plastic Piranha
www.joopson.com
  Reply with quote
24-06-2008, 06:55 PM   #5
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
try looking for an educational copy from somewhere like academic superstore - it should only cost you about $370.
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
  Reply with quote
25-06-2008, 01:11 AM   #6
shwenkerbean
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Temecula, CA
Posts: 53
Correct me if I am wrong guys, but a model made in a PLE or student edition cannot be exported into a full version. I.e. if you start a really cool project, you can't ever bring it into a full registered version and use it there. That would be a limitation if down the road you ever wanted to use your hard work for another purpose.
  Reply with quote
25-06-2008, 01:28 AM   #7
mmoore5553
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,043
that is right i forgot i ran into that long time ago when i started

if done in PLE can only stay in PLE
  Reply with quote
25-06-2008, 01:44 AM   #8
shwenkerbean
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Temecula, CA
Posts: 53
I took a couple of classes in Maya and saw some students make incredible models in PLE... then not be able to use them for a darn thing. It's a shame. If you're gooing to make some really cool test pieces and spend alot of time doing it, I'd suggest getting a full version on Ebay or something like that.
  Reply with quote
25-06-2008, 10:24 AM   #9
The Architect
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: /dev/null
Posts: 891
Quote:
Originally posted by shwenkerbean
I took a couple of classes in Maya and saw some students make incredible models in PLE... then not be able to use them for a darn thing. It's a shame. If you're gooing to make some really cool test pieces and spend alot of time doing it, I'd suggest getting a full version on Ebay or something like that.
I heard Autodesk is not happy about Ebay. If so, they might not let you register the product.
__________________
C. P. U. Its not a big processor... Its a series of pipes!
  Reply with quote
25-06-2008, 05:43 PM   #10
RabbidWolf
Registered User
 
RabbidWolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 3
thanks for the replies guys, I'll probably end up saving some money and gettin the full version, I'll try what arran said, and get the $400 one. The Educational, will I be able to use those models or is it just like the free learning edition? http://www.academicsuperstore.com/pr...limited/856171 Thats the one I was looking at.

Again thanks guys, this works for now but later on I'd like to actually use my models

Last edited by RabbidWolf; 25-06-2008 at 05:50 PM.
  Reply with quote
25-06-2008, 07:55 PM   #11
MattTheMan
Registered User
 
MattTheMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Fairfield, CT
Posts: 2,436
Quote:
Originally posted by RabbidWolf
thanks for the replies guys, I'll probably end up saving some money and gettin the full version, I'll try what arran said, and get the $400 one. The Educational, will I be able to use those models or is it just like the free learning edition? http://www.academicsuperstore.com/pr...limited/856171 Thats the one I was looking at.

Again thanks guys, this works for now but later on I'd like to actually use my models
No, you can actually use the ones made with the educational license, you just can't legally use them for anything commercial.
__________________
Live the life you love, love the life you live
  Reply with quote
25-06-2008, 09:58 PM   #12
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
yeah - matttheman is right. go with the educational license - you can worry about getting the proper version when you're ready to do something commercial. just be aware that you'll need evidence that you are a student.
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
  Reply with quote
26-06-2008, 09:18 AM   #13
publicFunction
Senior Software Developer
 
publicFunction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Livingston, Scotland
Posts: 1,701
Maya PLE is currently based off of Maya 8.5, the restrictions in place in the PLE are as follows:

Watermarked Renders
No PlugIn support (mll files)
Uses its own file extension
No Import or Export of Data to and from Full Versions
Runs for ever

The rest of the application runs the same as Maya 8.5 does.

The education version has the same as the same Version of Maya Complete, not Unlimited. As stated above Maya Education version is for personal use only and you break the EULA if any data created in Maya Education Version is found to be used in Commercial Presentions. This is due to the cost difference of the licence and the licence agreement (EULA) between it and the full versions. Also be aware you will need to be in full time education with a Valid Student ID to qualify for the Education version.

Good Luck.
__________________
Chris (formerly R@nSiD)
Twitter
When the power of love overcomes the love of power the world will truely know peace - Jimmy Hendrix
Winner SM VFX Challenge 1
3rd Place SM SteamPunk Challenge (May 2007)

Last edited by R@nSiD; 26-06-2008 at 09:25 AM.
  Reply with quote
26-06-2008, 09:22 AM   #14
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
The Educational version's unlimited isnt it (ours are here) or is there an option?

It think you can open ma and mb files in the PLE just not go back to the full version form the PLE.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
  Reply with quote
26-06-2008, 09:28 AM   #15
publicFunction
Senior Software Developer
 
publicFunction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Livingston, Scotland
Posts: 1,701
My experience on the PLE (Version 4 and 5) was it only supported its own files, not ma or mb files. Not used or seen the latest version, so I am unsure about it having the unlimted tools.

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet...112&id=7639525

Gives more details...
__________________
Chris (formerly R@nSiD)
Twitter
When the power of love overcomes the love of power the world will truely know peace - Jimmy Hendrix
Winner SM VFX Challenge 1
3rd Place SM SteamPunk Challenge (May 2007)
  Reply with quote
Reply
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 Last »

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Command window error on Maya 2012 filip321 Maya Technical Issues 0 04-11-2015 08:46 PM
Issues for max to maya users bertvaneeckhout Maya Modeling 23 25-09-2014 09:36 PM
Maya Friendly Game Plug-in's!!!!! killamike718 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 8 23-06-2006 09:28 PM
The Art of Maya, 3rd Edition.. mhcannon Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 0 25-02-2005 02:53 AM
Maya vs. 3DS, Light Wave, Rhino ino ect... THX1138 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 45 17-09-2003 02:09 PM