SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Maya Questions / Maya Technical Issues / Image plane problem

Maya Technical Issues Post all your interface and configuration related problems with Maya software here.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
24-01-2011, 10:53 PM   #1
nusphere
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1
Image plane problem
Hey Guys,

I initially set up an image panel in the Top, Front, and Side views in order to model a car. Later I decided to bring in a rear view of the car that I am modeling I did this by changing the bottom left hand panel from being the Front view to the Back view then uploaded the image believing that I would be able to switch between the front and back view to my hearts content. The problem is when I switch from the Back to the Front view the new rear end image remains. I can swap the image by uploading the front image once again but as soon as I select something the rear view image takes its place.

Thanks for any help that may be offered
  Reply with quote
25-01-2011, 02:14 AM   #2
Ash3010
Subscriber
 
Ash3010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 10
Image Planes
I'm personally a fan of setting up new orthographic cameras to hold imported images references:

In view pane: Panels > Orthographic > New...
1 x Top
1 x Side
2 x front (you will need to rotate one of these 180 degrees)

adopt an appropriate naming strategy (Name Img_Front, Img_Rear etc)

Import your images as before: View > Image Plane > Import Image
at this point in the attribute editor check the "looking through camera" option as opposed to "all views" (you might want to do this bit last so in the perspective view you can see the theory behind what happens next)

Change 2 viewpoints to the new front and rear cameras (leaving the persp cam): Panels > Orthographic .... (Select Cam):

View > Image Plane > Image Plane Attributes... Placement Extras > Centre... (adjust the value in the last box ("z" axis) to conflicting values one as 20, and one -20 (this may need to be adjusted depending on your grid size. "img1"

Summary:
What this has effectively done is put a camera and image plane on either side of the grid and as you can only see the relevant image planes from each camera you effectively look through the one to see the other "img1" I hope can help to illustrate this. Whilst also giving you the ability to quickly select an "original" orthographic view without being intruded by an image plane.

"Img2" - should be (for the most part) what your trying to achieve.

Hope this helps,

Ash
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Img1.jpg
Views:	1883
Size:	61.8 KB
ID:	45793   Click image for larger version

Name:	Img2.jpg
Views:	1953
Size:	659.6 KB
ID:	45794  
  Reply with quote
25-01-2011, 03:37 AM   #3
maheshsubbiah
Registered User
 
maheshsubbiah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: India
Posts: 145
Dowmload the script from the below link. Should solve ur purpose.

http://www.creativecrash.com/maya/do...lcameras_km--2

Mahesh
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Polygon plane crashes Mental Ray (fatal..null DB tag) jttraverse Lighting & Rendering 0 15-05-2015 02:45 AM
image plane problem in 8.5 banksta Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 6 13-04-2007 01:15 PM
problem about my image plane bob47 Maya Technical Issues 12 12-04-2007 04:07 PM
modeling: cv curves are behing image plane! mongoose Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 0 07-01-2006 02:52 PM
Cant See image on Image plane problem ziaadnan Maya Technical Issues 6 08-08-2004 05:45 AM