SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Maya Questions / Animation / Maya rigging problem, probably due to skinning?

Animation Animation & Rigging Related Topics

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
04-06-2016, 05:10 PM   #1
Stampy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 2
Maya rigging problem, probably due to skinning?
Hello, I've got a problem with a simple character rig in Maya, it's a problem I've had before but can never find a solution to. I'm not too skilled yet.

This is the rig:Click image for larger version

Name:	Riggingproblem1.PNG
Views:	124
Size:	77.1 KB
ID:	57258

(Don't pay attention to how the hair consists of a whole bunch of tentacle-esque joint strings, the problem lies in the feet.)

The problem happens when I move any part of the rig up to the root (The pelvis), other than the feet themselves. The torso and head are fine.
Click image for larger version

Name:	Riggingproblem2.PNG
Views:	117
Size:	81.5 KB
ID:	57259

The feet move along with it in a way they're not supposed to. It's really annoying and I've got no idea how to fix it, though I'm sure it's got something to do with the skinning of the feet. If anyone knows anything about this, help is much appreciated.

Thanks in advance!
  Reply with quote
06-06-2016, 02:49 AM   #2
NextDesign
Technical Director
 
NextDesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,988
How is the geometry attached to the rig? Is it parented, or bound to the bones?
__________________
Imagination is more important than knowledge.
  Reply with quote
12-06-2016, 02:57 PM   #3
Stampy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 2
Quote:
How is the geometry attached to the rig? Is it parented, or bound to the bones?
Hey, sorry for the late response, I've been very busy. I wasn't sure what you meant with "bound to the bones", so I did a bit of research and thought about it, and came to the conclusion that they were both parented AND bound, and that turned out to be the problem. Thanks for your help!
  Reply with quote
12-06-2016, 10:30 PM   #4
NextDesign
Technical Director
 
NextDesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,988
That would do it! Glad you figured it out.
__________________
Imagination is more important than knowledge.
  Reply with quote
04-01-2017, 07:28 AM   #5
dlopezdemedrano
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 13
Glad you figured this one out with some help! Yeah, you definitely never want to bind the mesh with joints PLUS have a parent to child relationship on top of that, thats when something evil called "double transforms" comes into play which you saw in your scene.

Its basically 99% of the time a hierarchy issue. Just in case you didn't understand fully as to the why what you did worked is all!

Feel free to check out my website! (:

http://dlopezdemedrano.com
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't batch render more than two frames! lvuorenvirta Lighting & Rendering 2 15-05-2015 09:51 AM
Character Rigging Problem SuperSparkplug Animation 1 11-12-2011 06:14 PM
Maya Doesn't Startup Properly - Just Script Editor threedsnack Maya Technical Issues 1 04-02-2008 11:55 AM
fur rendering failed????? olivermagno Maya Materials & Textures 2 21-05-2003 01:36 AM
AM Rigging vs Maya Rigging gazzamataz Animation 12 22-09-2002 09:14 AM