SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Convert subD to Poly Question.

Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge Please post in this section ONLY if your question doesn't fit in anywhere else on the forum, or if you're not sure which section it's relevant to. We also have Free streaming trial available.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
02-05-2004, 05:31 PM   #1
mgeldert
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 6
Convert subD to Poly Question.
I hope this question is not so dumb, no one will respond to it. But I am trying to convert a subD to Poly. I created a SubD sphere just to use to debug this problem. I then used "Modify>convert>subdiv to polygons", and selected the attributes window, I reset the parameters, then selected "vertices" for the "Tesselation Method" and "level" set to "0" and "Original Object" set to "Show". Then I select the "Apply" button. If I keep the viewport in wireframe I can see both objects but they are not separate. If I move one, I move both. I want to be able to move them separately. I tried to unparent them, and can not. I am new to working with SubD this conversion, and obviouly need your help very badly. I did try and use "F1" but the way Maya's Help reads, if I select "show" I should have two separate objects, HELP!!.
The actual project I'm working on has to do with skinning, and in this viedo they convert a SubD model (human) to poly, and they are able to move the poly and the subD is still there, separate, mine does not do that, so I tried it with a simple sphere and still no luck. Thanks in advance. 8-) Mike
  Reply with quote
02-05-2004, 06:49 PM   #2
owmyi
Registered User
 
owmyi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Somewhere out there.
Posts: 127
Have you tried deleting the history on them?
  Reply with quote
02-05-2004, 09:41 PM   #3
mgeldert
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 6
Hi, Yes I have deleted History before and after the conversion, no luck. I also tried to select them separatly in the outliner and also tried to unparent them, but no luck. Are you able to create a subD sphere and convert as per my original link and then have the Poly and the orginal subD behave as two seaparte objects? Thanks for taking time for me!!! 8-) Mike
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
poly to subd - subd to poly ronkhmps Maya Modeling 1 15-06-2007 01:10 AM
poly to subd question Rhetoric Camel Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 1 12-04-2007 05:56 PM
SubD > Poly prob j5ive Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 12-01-2006 01:26 PM
poly = convert => subd; weird looking lines on model Kaoru Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 6 30-12-2005 11:37 PM
HELP needed with SubD to Poly conversion intovidfilm2 Maya Modeling 1 06-10-2004 03:18 AM