SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Animating transparency in a particular direction

Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge Please post in this section ONLY if your question doesn't fit in anywhere else on the forum, or if you're not sure which section it's relevant to. We also have Free streaming trial available.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
10-08-2010, 12:47 AM   #1
Buster Sword
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 22
Animating transparency in a particular direction
Anyone know how?
Thanks
  Reply with quote
10-08-2010, 06:18 AM   #2
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
use a black and white ramp
  Reply with quote
10-08-2010, 04:07 PM   #3
Buster Sword
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 22
In the transparency map node?
  Reply with quote
11-08-2010, 12:36 AM   #4
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,125
something about facing ratio too

what do you mean by 'in a particular direction', that could means lots of things

vague questions get vaque responses
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
  Reply with quote
11-08-2010, 11:52 AM   #5
Buster Sword
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 22
Like from left to right on a cylinder. Like a lightsaber switching on.

Last edited by Buster Sword; 11-08-2010 at 12:27 PM.
  Reply with quote
11-08-2010, 01:13 PM   #6
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
Quote:
Originally posted by Buster Sword
In the transparency map node?
yeah plug the ramp into the transparency and key the set position.
  Reply with quote
11-08-2010, 03:31 PM   #7
Buster Sword
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally posted by hammer.horror
yeah plug the ramp into the transparency and key the set position.
Nothing happens, when I mess around with the ramp and render it shows the flow of transparency. But in the actual scene nothing happens, nor does anything happen in a playblast.

Last edited by Buster Sword; 11-08-2010 at 05:13 PM.
  Reply with quote
12-08-2010, 10:17 AM   #8
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
Quote:
Originally posted by Buster Sword
when I mess around with the ramp and render it shows the flow of transparency.
umm... so it works then.


Quote:
Originally posted by Chirone
vague questions get vaque responses
word
  Reply with quote
12-08-2010, 12:23 PM   #9
Buster Sword
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally posted by hammer.horror
umm... so it works then.




word
Only when rendered and not in the actual scene though.
  Reply with quote
12-08-2010, 04:18 PM   #10
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,374
Some things will only show up (or be transparent) in the render, but I'm not sure if this is one of those situations. Have you tried hitting 6 and 7 to see if the texture/lighting helps?
  Reply with quote
12-08-2010, 05:12 PM   #11
bendingiscool
Subscriber
 
bendingiscool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: London
Posts: 567
I don't think Maya likes to display transparency if done through a gradient, or any other type of texture, in the viewports.

As long as it works in the render you don't have anything to worry about..

cheers,
Chris
  Reply with quote
12-08-2010, 09:22 PM   #12
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,125
i'm pretty sure there is a setting somewhere that you can enable the alpha in hardware texturing, which makes it show up in the viewports
i just dont remember where such setting is.
i think i saw it on the gnomonology eyeball tutorial how you do it
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Specular Behind Transparency. C onnor Maya Materials & Textures 2 18-07-2014 12:05 PM
cant find transparency slider for shader in attribute editor (molecular movies tut)) nickynacky Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 24-06-2012 01:23 PM
particle direction with animated characters Razor Blade Dynamics & Special Effects 0 19-05-2012 01:01 AM
Can you sample Transparency XenoCatalyst Maya Technical Issues 0 22-03-2012 02:39 AM
transparency map not working with file textures? Chirone Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 10 24-07-2009 12:38 PM