SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Maya Questions / Maya Technical Issues / maya error need help please!!

Maya Technical Issues Post all your interface and configuration related problems with Maya software here.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
06-08-2006, 03:18 PM   #1
Callum_Abele
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 32
maya error need help please!!
hi guys just put maya back on and theres something very wierd happening when I try and select a group of objects by drawing a square using the left mouse button it makes a wierd effect, take a look at my pic if you dont know what i mean. Ive reinstalled Maya about 4 times and deleted all files that could of been corrupted that are associated with Maya, any help please as I cant fix it
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	maya error.jpg
Views:	69
Size:	183.0 KB
ID:	30092  
  Reply with quote
06-08-2006, 05:05 PM   #2
Joopson
Registered User
 
Joopson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 2,314
it looks like a graphics card error.... can you tell us what kind of graphics card you are using currently (if its the standard one, just say standard)

And ATI cards don't seem to agree with maya much. So if you have an ATI, that is probably the problem.
__________________
Environment Artist @ Plastic Piranha
www.joopson.com
  Reply with quote
28-08-2006, 01:22 PM   #3
alienpioneer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Romania
Posts: 27
Maya 7?
Hi,

i don't know why you guys jump for maya 7? Has A LOT of bugs...
and i have used it at my work (2XOpteron 64 dual core) and i had very very nasty problems that took a lot of time to fix. And i have sugested to my supervisor to use Maya 6, and since then EVERYTHING it's ok! (i've worked in maya 6 one year and half).
Conclusion: If you have plugs and stuff that goes ok on a previous version why canging it?Does it realy worth the price?I know that there are a lot of good stuff in 7 & 8, but also a lot of bugs that drive into late the whole pipeline.
  Reply with quote
28-08-2006, 04:36 PM   #4
Joopson
Registered User
 
Joopson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 2,314
actually AP,
maya 7 has less bugs than maya 6.5
it also no more bugs in it than any previous version of maya.
maya 8 however is a bit wierd, but still works for some people.
-Andy
__________________
Environment Artist @ Plastic Piranha
www.joopson.com
  Reply with quote
10-09-2006, 01:04 PM   #5
mirek03
Subscriber
 
mirek03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,752
as joopson said ATI does not agree with maya, i had to change cards because of problems with ATI

good luck, and also i agree, maya 8 is a bit wierd,, it will not hardware render with my nvidea quadro4 750XGL,

7 is great and 6.5 is great too but i feel like a test bunnie driving maya 8



oh yea, be careful with the size of thje pictures, i cant see the whole picture without scroling the frame.
__________________
take it easy and life will be easy

Last edited by mirek03; 10-09-2006 at 01:08 PM.
  Reply with quote
10-09-2006, 08:14 PM   #6
Blayd
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 49
I'm running an ATI X1800 Pro, and I'm having no issues so far with Maya 7 Unlimited. I wasnt aware that ATI's were having trouble. hmmm.. will have to keep an eye on that.
First thing to do is make sure your drivers are up to date. What ever card your using, make sure its drivers are up to date. If the problem still comes up, then it may just be a compatibility issue as they said. Might be helpful to post your system stats as well.
Good luck.
  Reply with quote
10-09-2006, 11:16 PM   #7
mirek03
Subscriber
 
mirek03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,752
i had trouble with paint effects mainly and viewport problems. i had a 9600 XT, but it was a power colour, maybe not a good brand.
__________________
take it easy and life will be easy
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Death Brain Maya Nurb Tutorials liesengthok Maya Modeling 1 21-10-2007 10:46 AM
maya 2008 mirek03 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 13 25-08-2007 05:06 AM
how to lean well maya? lmner Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 5 07-05-2007 04:49 AM
Use Maya For Game... Why Maya? Triple-x Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 14 02-09-2005 09:07 PM
Maya vs. 3DS, Light Wave, Rhino ino ect... THX1138 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 45 17-09-2003 02:09 PM