SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Problem Applying Texture

Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge Please post in this section ONLY if your question doesn't fit in anywhere else on the forum, or if you're not sure which section it's relevant to. We also have Free streaming trial available.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
Page 1 of 2 1 2
 
Thread Tools
03-09-2005, 01:54 AM   #1
Nusirilo
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 121
Problem Applying Texture
Hey guys. Well, I modelled a giraffe out of a polygon cube and then smoothed it out with polygon --> smooth value set to 2. I then attempted to texture the body. I got the UVs by using automatic mapping, and they came out surprisingly well. I then transferred the UV outline to Photoshop, and, for fun, drew yellow all over the legs and then exported it back to maya and applied it to the model. It worked properly, with yellow squiggles all over the legs. I then deleted that for obvious reasons. Later on, I opened the UV outline in Photoshop and actually applied a texture to it, but when exporting it back to Maya and applying it through Hypershade, it came out very strange, with the UV outline printed all over the giraffe's body (with the texture on the UVs). I don't know exactly what happened there, but it's annoying me. Any idea what I can do to ensure the texture applies properly?

If I didn't explain it properly, let me know and I'll try to explain it differently.
  Reply with quote
03-09-2005, 02:17 AM   #2
Nurb Herder
Registered User
 
Nurb Herder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 15
I'm not absolutely certain that I understood your question and that's probably my fault as it's late here and I need sleep but, you did create your texture map in photoshop on a seperate layer other than that of the actual UV map didn't you?
  Reply with quote
03-09-2005, 02:20 AM   #3
Nusirilo
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 121
Yes, the first thing I did was turn the UV map into a regular layer and put it on screen mode.

Edit: Just did it again using the UV as the bottom layer and creating layers on top of it, but still no luck. I must be doing something different from the first time but I don't know what.

Last edited by Nusirilo; 03-09-2005 at 02:24 AM.
  Reply with quote
03-09-2005, 06:04 AM   #4
jsprogg
Lifetime Member
 
jsprogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,710
Just a suggestion , but did you remember to turn the UV layer off when saving it out ?
  Reply with quote
03-09-2005, 01:00 PM   #5
Nusirilo
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 121
Quote:
Originally posted by jsprogg
Just a suggestion , but did you remember to turn the UV layer off when saving it out ?
I'm not exactly sure what you mean. Do you mean the UV layer that appears when you right click the giraffe and the choice to switch to UVs, vertexs, etc., pops up? I don't think I ever had that on if that is what you're talking about.
  Reply with quote
03-09-2005, 08:58 PM   #6
jsprogg
Lifetime Member
 
jsprogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,710
I mean in Photoshop , once you have created your texture .Before you save it to load back into Maya, did you remember to turn the UV layer off to be not visible as you said you set it to screen.
  Reply with quote
03-09-2005, 11:12 PM   #7
Nusirilo
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 121
Quote:
Originally posted by jsprogg
I mean in Photoshop , once you have created your texture .Before you save it to load back into Maya, did you remember to turn the UV layer off to be not visible as you said you set it to screen.
No, I didn't. How do I do that? And does that make a difference? Because I remember watching a McKinley tutorial and I don't remember him turning the UV layer off (of course I likely could have missed it).

Once again, how would I turn the UV layer off?
  Reply with quote
04-09-2005, 02:15 PM   #8
Mirza513
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 26
just click the little eye thingy... right next to each layer theres like this little icon that looks like an eye.. click that and it should make that layer, invisible.
  Reply with quote
04-09-2005, 04:25 PM   #9
matt4068
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 274
yeah, just hide the layer thats got the uv map on it, or move it below all the other layers.
  Reply with quote
04-09-2005, 04:42 PM   #10
Nusirilo
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 121
Ok, I'll try that out and see if it works. Thanks for the advice.

EDIT: Ok, tried that out by placing the layer with my drawing on it (just a few quick paint lines for testing) above the layer with the UVs on it (I changed the UV section from a background to a layer) and turned the UV layer off or invisible by clicking the eye. Now, when I apply it to the giraffe, instead of showing the rest of the UVs with the paint on them, I only see the paint (but still in the small size that I saw it as before).

Last edited by Nusirilo; 04-09-2005 at 04:50 PM.
  Reply with quote
04-09-2005, 05:58 PM   #11
matt4068
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 274
im confused, post a pic
  Reply with quote
04-09-2005, 08:37 PM   #12
Nusirilo
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 121
Quote:
Originally posted by matt4068
im confused, post a pic
I have to head out right now but I will post a pic as soon as I get back (why didn't I think of that lol).
  Reply with quote
05-09-2005, 02:33 AM   #13
Nusirilo
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 121
Ok, I attached the .mb file with the texture applied to show the problem. You will see yellow scribbles (the slight outline I drew on the legs in Photoshop) all over the body. This is the texture/UV that was supposed to apply to the object in larger form. Have fun

EDIT: Bah, it won't apply because the file is too large, probably because of the texture. Is there any way that I can decrease the file size from 460 (approx) KB to about 220 KB (the max size on these forums)?
  Reply with quote
05-09-2005, 07:37 AM   #14
t1ck135
Registered User
 
t1ck135's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,991
If you want a smaller file size then maybe try zipping it up?
__________________
Examples of bTraffic - a traffic animation tool for Maya
bFlocking - a tool for Maya 8.5+ to generate flocking and swarming behaviours
Jan/Feb Challenge 2007 Entry and W.I.P
May/Jun Challenge 2006 Entry and W.I.P
Mar/Apr Challenge 2006 Entry and W.I.P
Jan/Feb Challenge 2006 Entry and W.I.P
Nov/Dec Challenge 2005 Entry and W.I.P
Sep/Oct Challenge 2005 Entry and W.I.P
Jul/Aug Challenge 2005 Entry
www.flash-fx.net
  Reply with quote
05-09-2005, 01:00 PM   #15
Nusirilo
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 121
Quote:
Originally posted by t1ck135
If you want a smaller file size then maybe try zipping it up?
Ah, you smart man All this time with WinRAR and I never think to actually ZIP a file instead of just unZipping them.

Anyways, here is the file showing my problem as described above.
Attached Files
File Type: zip giraffeluvtextureproblem.zip (208.9 KB, 52 views)
  Reply with quote
Reply
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Texture Problem ... mtcgs Maya Materials & Textures 0 03-06-2009 05:18 PM
Black Hole Texture Problem GDMaster Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 0 02-03-2009 08:38 PM
Texture problem ! Again ! thatsmybrand Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 03-02-2009 01:44 PM
Render Texture Problem hidekiw Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 4 04-05-2008 05:14 PM
file texture problem ? Mike Feil Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 4 27-07-2004 01:12 AM