SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Importing Illustrator file ???

Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge Please post in this section ONLY if your question doesn't fit in anywhere else on the forum, or if you're not sure which section it's relevant to. We also have Free streaming trial available.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
01-08-2003, 12:28 PM   #1
.:morpher:.
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 182
Importing Illustrator file ???
Hi!
I like to create a 3d logo. I draw the logo in illustrator, save it as an version 7 *.ai-file and then import it into maya. Then I see the curves. How can I now work wit this curves and extrude them?
__________________
CU morpher
  Reply with quote
01-08-2003, 12:48 PM   #2
.:morpher:.
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 182
I upload the scene file, becuase I just don't get it. I tried it with e the surfaces--> bevel option, but the result doesn't look as I want it to look. Maybe someone of you knows how to do it and can make it for me.
Attached Files
File Type: mb bauer_logo.mb (67.1 KB, 52 views)
__________________
CU morpher
  Reply with quote
01-08-2003, 01:07 PM   #3
NitroLiq
Moderator
 
NitroLiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,133
Try using bevelPlus in the surfaces menu and select each letter one at a time. For letters with holes like "B" or "e" shift-select the outer then inner curve. You'll have to play in the channelbox after you create the bevel to get the type you want or in the bevelplus option box when you initially create the surfaces.
Attached Images
 
__________________
"Terminat Bora Diem, Terminal Auctor opus."

Last edited by NitroLiq; 01-08-2003 at 01:09 PM.
  Reply with quote
01-08-2003, 01:13 PM   #4
.:morpher:.
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 182
i don't have the bevelPlus otion in the surfaces menu...

...i only have version 4.0.1 of maya. Can it be that the option is only available with version 4.5 and 5?
__________________
CU morpher
  Reply with quote
01-08-2003, 01:28 PM   #5
NitroLiq
Moderator
 
NitroLiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,133
Well, it was integrated in 4.5 but was originally a separate plug-in for 4.0. If you go to the revamped Alias' site and log on to the community downloads section, you can find it in the maya plugins area.
__________________
"Terminat Bora Diem, Terminal Auctor opus."
  Reply with quote
01-08-2003, 01:41 PM   #6
.:morpher:.
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 182
thx for theinformation
__________________
CU morpher
  Reply with quote
01-08-2003, 01:58 PM   #7
NitroLiq
Moderator
 
NitroLiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,133
No problem. Hope it helped.
__________________
"Terminat Bora Diem, Terminal Auctor opus."
  Reply with quote
01-08-2003, 02:07 PM   #8
.:morpher:.
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 182
it did help :-)
-i will post the final version in the finished forum *gg*
__________________
CU morpher
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mesh importing into ZBrush in odd position ashervisalis Maya Technical Issues 3 09-05-2016 06:11 PM
importing video into maya Mr_joe Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 03-09-2006 04:16 PM
importing avi's W/alpha in after effects? howardporter Lighting & Rendering 6 10-04-2004 05:05 PM
Importing 3DS models into Maya Eyenovation Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 3 16-09-2003 12:28 PM
importing iges marcus Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 1 21-11-2002 03:52 PM