SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / New Computer Specs

Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge Please post in this section ONLY if your question doesn't fit in anywhere else on the forum, or if you're not sure which section it's relevant to. We also have Free streaming trial available.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
14-09-2002, 03:17 PM   #1
Cyberlloyd
SM Alumni
 
Cyberlloyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Kanaduh
Posts: 72
New Computer Specs
Just got my new PC up and running and finished benchmarks..

Pentium 4 2.4Ghz 533 FSB
Gigbyte GA8SR533
MSI Geforce 4 Ti4600
256 MB PC 2700 RAM (333mhz)

I just finished bencharmarking it with 3D markk 2001:

Running the Geforce at stock setting I hit 11060

Over clocking it to:
702Mhz memory clock
329Mhz Core GPU clock

It ran a 11200

So, for the $300 it ended up costing me to upgrade my old system (selling it and buying this one) I think it was quite worth the extra 10000 points on the benchmark.

Now I just have to go get my copy of Battlefield 1942, UT2k3, and wait for Asherin's Call 2 to come out, and i'll be set for another year.
__________________
"You know you've done your job right when nobody notices"

"Don't quote me boy cause I ain't said sh*t"
  Reply with quote
14-09-2002, 07:11 PM   #2
Roman
Supreme Being
 
Roman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 1,123
nice m8..
i'll be gettin' myself an upgrade too.. hehe can't w8..
  Reply with quote
14-09-2002, 07:14 PM   #3
David
SM Site Programmer
 
David's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,125
Ya very nice i need new hard drives myself allways running out o space :-(
__________________
Worst Response To A Crisis:
From a readers' Q and A column in TV GUIDE: "If we get involved in a nuclear war, would the electromagnetic pulses from exploding bombs damage my videotapes?"
  Reply with quote
14-09-2002, 08:56 PM   #4
Protheus
Registered User
 
Protheus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Beyond Oblivion
Posts: 471
nice spec, but 256 or memory ... isn't that a little bit low ?
  Reply with quote
14-09-2002, 10:19 PM   #5
deviantdreamworks
Registered User
 
deviantdreamworks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: in front of my PC
Posts: 172
I upgraded
__________________

How to fly:
"...aim for the ground and miss..."
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
computer issue Rhetoric Camel Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 7 16-12-2008 06:37 PM
problem exporting maxwell render from maya to another computer herrputti Lighting & Rendering 2 29-06-2008 12:27 PM
New Computer - Specs doodle Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 6 17-08-2004 10:24 PM
My computer crashed! DarkwareX Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 27 14-07-2003 04:46 PM
Computer Specs for Your Maya Box robinmthomas Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 26 16-11-2002 06:39 PM