SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Smaller downloads @ Simplymaya.

Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge Please post in this section ONLY if your question doesn't fit in anywhere else on the forum, or if you're not sure which section it's relevant to. We also have Free streaming trial available.

View Poll Results: Do you care about the size of the downloads.
I would love to be able to pick my download size 8 36.36%
I dont care what size the downloads are. 14 63.64%
Voters: 22. You may not vote on this poll

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
20-05-2003, 02:52 AM   #1
David
SM Site Programmer
 
David's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,125
Smaller downloads @ Simplymaya.
Ok some people have complained in the past that the downloads here are simply to large to get on a 56k connection, put your name down here if you would like to be able to pick your download file size.

Basically it would be a system of you pick the size of file you would like to download the server cuts it up you download the parts @ whatever size is good for your connection and we give you a little app to stick the parts back together after you have downloaded them, the process would be very simple.

Would you like to see this here put your name in this thread if this idea interests you.
__________________
Worst Response To A Crisis:
From a readers' Q and A column in TV GUIDE: "If we get involved in a nuclear war, would the electromagnetic pulses from exploding bombs damage my videotapes?"
  Reply with quote
20-05-2003, 07:25 PM   #2
I-Iybrid
Simply Maya OG
 
I-Iybrid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Queensbury NY, US A
Posts: 1,438
Im not on 56k, but I think thats a great idea for the 56k'ers. I used to be on 56k, and I HATED downloading huge files. So yea, I think its a good idea.
__________________
- Hybrid
  Reply with quote
20-05-2003, 07:36 PM   #3
Emo
Subscriber
 
Emo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: MELville
Posts: 1,100
I dont care....

before on a 56K.. I used to use GetRight to get EVERYTHING I downloaded...now it's pointless

-Emo
  Reply with quote
20-05-2003, 09:40 PM   #4
David
SM Site Programmer
 
David's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,125
Because of security out site does not support resume so get right or any other download manager will not work if they did I probably wouldn’t bother going to all this trouble.

David
__________________
Worst Response To A Crisis:
From a readers' Q and A column in TV GUIDE: "If we get involved in a nuclear war, would the electromagnetic pulses from exploding bombs damage my videotapes?"
  Reply with quote
22-05-2003, 12:19 AM   #5
R-Tillery
Subscriber
 
R-Tillery's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Ventura California
Posts: 966
I like it the way it is,, I hope you dont change any thing, if they want the files, put it on a CD and sale it to them.
  Reply with quote
22-05-2003, 01:27 AM   #6
David
SM Site Programmer
 
David's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,125
Quote:
Originally posted by R-Tillery
I like it the way it is,, I hope you dont change any thing, if they want the files, put it on a CD and sale it to them.
Its not changing there will simply also be the option to download the files in parts as well as in one big lump
__________________
Worst Response To A Crisis:
From a readers' Q and A column in TV GUIDE: "If we get involved in a nuclear war, would the electromagnetic pulses from exploding bombs damage my videotapes?"
  Reply with quote
22-05-2003, 05:11 AM   #7
Ultragames
Registered User
 
Ultragames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,113
MAKE EM BIGGER! I want to be able to read the menus they are pulling down in the tuts. Faster FPS would be better too.
__________________
Armitrex Studios
Now open!!
  Reply with quote
22-05-2003, 04:39 PM   #8
Witchy
Subscriber
 
Witchy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,254
I think breaking the files into parts for people with 56k connections would be helpful- I used to use Getright for everything as I had a 2 hr cutoff with my old isp before the days of adsl, so anything you can do to help out 56kers would be great imho. Most of us have been there after all!
  Reply with quote
22-05-2003, 05:15 PM   #9
Nem
Subscriber
 
Nem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Faringdon, UK
Posts: 1,480
the downloads on this site are so hard because it doesnt support getright, and im on 56k and i cant download anything bigger than 15mb ish cos th e net cuts me off every 2hrs
__________________
- Simon

My Website: www.Glass-Prison.com
  Reply with quote
22-05-2003, 05:38 PM   #10
adldesigner
Registered User
 
adldesigner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: CCS, Venezuela
Posts: 3,363
GETright is actually devastating on servers Nem.
That´s why David is offering you this solution.

What do you mean "cut you off"?
If you´re navigating three hours, it still cuts you off?
Have you thought about using software such as Never Offline?
__________________
adldesigner
Caracas, Venezuela
Hell .. not gone perse, but with a certainly lower post count per day.

  Reply with quote
26-05-2003, 10:43 AM   #11
Witchy
Subscriber
 
Witchy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,254
In the UK a lot of packages have 2 hour cutoffs- it automtically disconnects you every two hours, that's the price you pay for an all in one dialup package where you are charged a flat rate. Otherwise you have to pay more or pay call charges. I used to have one myself before I got ADSL. That's why people use dl managers, whether they affect servers or not; 56kers still want to enjoy the net too and not break the bank.

I think breaking up downloads is great for 56kers- I suspect a lot of people voting against it don't have the download problem others have and therefore don't fully appreciate the situation. But not everyone is lucky enough to have always on connections or unlimited transfers.

Last edited by Witchy; 26-05-2003 at 10:55 AM.
  Reply with quote
26-05-2003, 11:08 AM   #12
BabyDuck
Subscriber
 
BabyDuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,170
i am on adsl right now. and i will be on cable modem (is that also adsl??? ) soon. but my vote is for beeing able to choose the file size. only because i am fortunate to have a fast connection does not mean it stays so in every region i might be.
  Reply with quote
27-05-2003, 04:42 PM   #13
twisteddragon33
Registered User
 
twisteddragon33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 1,945
i have cable. fast connection. stable too. So i dont reallly mind file size. however 2 medium files will dl faster than 1 really large one... beginning of dles are always fasted. if theres a longer beginning time better.
__________________
________________________
AIM: SublimeDragon33
Catch me if i'm on. Always up for a chat.
e-mail: sublimedragon33@gmail.com
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SimplyMaya 2010 - Subscriber Updates Nilla Site News & Announcements 6 13-09-2011 09:37 PM
SimplyMaya 2010 - Community Updates Nilla Site News & Announcements 8 01-12-2010 05:28 PM
Are the "free" downloads obtainable? Cheetahcabra Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 3 08-08-2007 06:12 PM
SimplyMaya Content Rating, and Admin Rights junkyBob Board Questions & Suggestions 6 16-02-2007 12:35 PM