Introduction to Maya - Modeling Fundamentals Vol 2
This course will look in the fundamentals of modeling in Maya with an emphasis on creating good topology. It's aimed at people that have some modeling experience in Maya but are having trouble with complex objects.
# 1 27-12-2013, 04:29 AM
tariq1983
Subscriber
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 7

Maya 2012 Render issue

Hello everyone,

http://youtu.be/ZZNO3ey4NcI

I am having trouble with rendering in Maya 2012. And would most appreciate and be greateful for your assistance.

The viewport shows how i would like the image rendered and so does the UV Texture Editor, however, when i render it, it shows the image as stretched/repeated..

I have played around with the UV Repeat settings but this has not resolved the issue.

Can anyone see the problem? and help me troubleshoot? (i have made a 30 second clip showing the issue -the link is at the top of this post)

Many thanks..


Last edited by tariq1983; 27-12-2013 at 04:32 AM. Reason: make clear link
# 2 27-12-2013, 04:50 AM
Gen's Avatar
Gen
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,518
Have you doubled checked that you're using the right UV set?


- Genny
__________________
::|| My CG Blog ||::
::|| My Maya FAQ ||::
# 3 27-12-2013, 04:56 AM
tariq1983
Subscriber
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 7
Hi,

yes i have checked and its definetley the right UV set.. i have also recreated, re UV'd and re textured but this still had the same result.

# 4 27-12-2013, 07:11 PM
Gen's Avatar
Gen
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,518
Can you upload the scene?


- Genny
__________________
::|| My CG Blog ||::
::|| My Maya FAQ ||::
# 5 27-12-2013, 08:46 PM
tariq1983
Subscriber
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 7
hi,

i have added it as an attachment.. hope its clear to see.. in the image you can see the viewport, the UV Texture Editor and also the Render box

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	SendToSimplyMaya.jpg
Views:	143
Size:	186.7 KB
ID:	55192  
# 6 27-12-2013, 09:44 PM
Gen's Avatar
Gen
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,518
This screenshot doesn't show me anything that I haven't already seen in the video. If you don't want to upload the scene to the forums, you can upload it elsewhere and send me a link in a pm.


- Genny
__________________
::|| My CG Blog ||::
::|| My Maya FAQ ||::
# 7 27-12-2013, 10:08 PM
tariq1983
Subscriber
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 7
sorry, i guess i do not understand when you say 'scene'. Do you mean a snapshot of the viewport?

# 8 28-12-2013, 03:14 AM
Gen's Avatar
Gen
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,518
No, I mean the Maya file.


- Genny
__________________
::|| My CG Blog ||::
::|| My Maya FAQ ||::
# 9 28-12-2013, 06:01 AM
tariq1983
Subscriber
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 7
i have just tried adding it as a file attachment but i am getting an error message as invalid file.

or am i doing something wrong?

# 10 28-12-2013, 07:01 AM
Gen's Avatar
Gen
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,518
Unless you manage to compress it into a 1MB zip file then no, this won't allow .mb or .ma files. However, you can use a free third party file hosting site like, box, rapidshare dropbox, mediafire, google drive, google sites.


- Genny
__________________
::|| My CG Blog ||::
::|| My Maya FAQ ||::
# 11 28-12-2013, 08:26 PM
tariq1983
Subscriber
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 7

# 12 29-12-2013, 12:05 AM
Gen's Avatar
Gen
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,518
There's a projection node between your texture and shader. The projection is being cast down the z axis while the majority of the stairs' surface area isn't facing this direction, so the texture is streaking over them.

You probably have it set to create projection nodes when you create 2D textures.
Get into Hypershade>Create>2D Textures and near the bottom, set it to "2D Normal".


- Genny
__________________
::|| My CG Blog ||::
::|| My Maya FAQ ||::
# 13 29-12-2013, 12:49 AM
tariq1983
Subscriber
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 7
THANK YOU SO MUCH GENNY..!!

at first i followed yr advice but on the same textured step, which yielded same result..
then i made a new step, with 2D Normal set on (as you advised) and layed out the UV texture and it worked..

i am just so happy to have finally done some texturing.. i have only ever learnt basic modeling in the past..

thanx again..

# 14 29-12-2013, 12:58 AM
Gen's Avatar
Gen
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,518
In the case of the "old step", you could have just middle dragged the texture onto the color channel of the shader, it'll overwrite the connection to the projection node. I should've mentioned that ><. Either way, now you know how to prevent Maya from doing that in the future


- Genny
__________________
::|| My CG Blog ||::
::|| My Maya FAQ ||::
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Reply to this thread
Posting Rules Forum Rules
You may not post new threads | You may not post replies | You may not post attachments | You may not edit your posts | BB code is On | Smilies are On | [IMG] code is On | HTML code is Off

Similar Threads