SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Maya Questions / Maya Technical Issues / Which gfx card for a Mac Pro?

Maya Technical Issues Post all your interface and configuration related problems with Maya software here.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
Page 2 of 2 1 2
 
Thread Tools
09-02-2009, 09:56 PM   #16
halfloaf
Lifetime Member
 
halfloaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Bristol, UK.
Posts: 191
Agreed, bootcamp it is...If I can figure out how to do a flavour of Linux I'll run that as well (or instead, as at least nVIDIA release drivers for Linux!). I'm going to pick up another SATA drive and install XP on it to run Maya. The rest of the stuff I'll use OS X.

I've gone through every forum regarding tearing and OS X, most are games based...:headbang: It seems it's most likely the drivers. The one thing that gets me is how many people assume it's gonna work just because it's OS X, and most of them don't even know what a driver is?!?! Apple has lost the 'Pro' market, well and good!

-J
  Reply with quote
10-02-2009, 08:18 AM   #17
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
You are running a brew of linux, its called OSX.

What gets me is how people think that just because they are getting an Apple "branded" product that its going to be better quality, and as you say work out of the box, but thats the marketing for you.

So much for it all working nicely together as a package,
now you've got to go and install Windows on a Mac to get programmes working, Microsoft must be having a chuckle to themselves, getting into a market that they NEVER would have done.

Very poor on apples part this, especially on a Mac Pro.

Hoping that theres a solution that will just let you use it with the OS you bought with the PC
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
  Reply with quote
10-02-2009, 01:35 PM   #18
halfloaf
Lifetime Member
 
halfloaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Bristol, UK.
Posts: 191
There's a side of me that loves it when something doesn't work out the box!

I think OS X is becoming less and less *nix like with every release. There is so much moaning going on about the lack of implementation of X11 on several forums. All lip-service I say from Apple!

I'm going to try OS X + Fedora, as at least Fedora is 'blessed' by AutoDesk.

Don't get me wrong, it does work out of the box, but only up to using consumer level apps + most of Adobe stuff. Anything else, kiss your toes and hope for the best! It's 95% Apple's fault as they try and keep everything sooo close to their chests. Too bad!
Imagine what some of the hacintosh guys would have done by now if the drivers for the video cards have been released!!! OS X on Speed!!

-J
  Reply with quote
10-02-2009, 07:51 PM   #19
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Sounds bad that its so so touch and go with anything thats for proper work, and for the premium that it costs. Apple will never release anything that means they might loose even a bit of control.


Ohh well, you pays your money and takes ya chance.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
  Reply with quote
Reply
Page 2 of 2 1 2

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mac Book Pro and Maya 2013 GuusJ Maya Technical Issues 1 05-11-2012 10:19 AM
maya 2008 on Mac g5 --> what card? Kikokun Maya Technical Issues 0 18-11-2009 02:06 AM
Turn your budget graphics card into a Pro level hi-performance card for free? ExtrudedDingus Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 5 11-05-2008 10:05 AM
Autodesk Maya runs on Mac Pro bgiannelli Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 4 29-07-2007 06:21 AM
GFX Card (Output) Query Jasi76 Maya Technical Issues 0 24-02-2003 06:16 PM