SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Members Lounge / problems with graphics card
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-09-2007, 09:12 AM   #16
Rhetoric Camel
Subscriber
 
Rhetoric Camel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Plattsburgh New York
Posts: 1,222
Thanks: 6
Thanked 28 Times in 23 Posts
Default

I'll do some more research because I don't know if Staple or Best Buy are good places to bring a computer? I don't know never done it before. They are the only computer stores close enough to me.
I don't think it's a small case, I can try to get a picture of the inside of the computer if that helps at all?

Thanks
__________________
- Mike

http://rhetoriccamel.blogspot.com
Rhetoric Camel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2007, 03:14 PM   #17
The Architect
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: /dev/null
Posts: 891
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Rhetoric Camel > 'I don't think it's a small case, I can try to get a picture of the inside of the computer if that helps at all?'

A photo of the case would help determine wether you can fit a standard psu inside or not, but it doesn't really determine wether the motherboard will be compatible with the psu. I think searching around the net for any stories of people upgrading a Dimension 9150's power supply would be helpful if you can't get to a store.
__________________
C. P. U. Its not a big processor... Its a series of pipes!
The Architect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2007, 09:54 PM   #18
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Could you not just see what motherboard is in the PC then go form there?
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2007, 10:48 PM   #19
Rhetoric Camel
Subscriber
 
Rhetoric Camel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Plattsburgh New York
Posts: 1,222
Thanks: 6
Thanked 28 Times in 23 Posts
Default

well I've looked all over on what power supply fits in a Dimension 9150 that is 600watt and above, and so far I've gotten no answers. It's driving me crazy. I know if I buy another computer at some time (which I can't afford) I'm not going with dell doing anything with them is more complicated then I ever imagined. But then again when I got this computer I didn't think I was going to get into 3d graphics.
__________________
- Mike

http://rhetoriccamel.blogspot.com
Rhetoric Camel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-09-2007, 02:31 PM   #20
Rhetoric Camel
Subscriber
 
Rhetoric Camel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Plattsburgh New York
Posts: 1,222
Thanks: 6
Thanked 28 Times in 23 Posts
Default

I went back to my radeon x300 and replaced my 375 watt power supply with a 550 watt. At the same time I put the quadro fx 3450 back in my computer, only for it to make the same dots on the screen as before. I did a little more research and found out it's burnt up, no if, ands, or buts. So I turned off my computer put the radeon x300 back in and it was working fine. I started messing around in the controls and this is when I started kicking myself for not finding these earlier. I found a "3d Open GL Settings" when I clicked on it I could Force 24-bit Z-Buffer Depth and I could Triple Buffering.
I clicked on both to see what would happen, ended up getting an error when opening Maya. So I typed the error in google and found out that Maya has trouble with triple buffering. I turned it off turned on Maya and BAM no more glitches! I can rotate, zoom, pull vertices and all of that without it lagging like a videogame on a bad system. Just by turning on the 24-Bit Z-Buffer Depth. I wonder if the power supply helped at all?
All that money spent on nothing I needed to spend it on, except maybe the power supply.
:headbang: :headbang: :headbang:
It's a relief but its also been a stressful situation, and living on a tight budget on the moment I feel like I just waisted a lot of money that could have been used wisely. I just don't feel right selling the bad card on ebay although I was foolish enough to buy it even with the warning given.

PS
There are still a couple small glitches in maya shaded view, I can see the wire frame on both sides like it's transparent, but it's all broken up and there are a couple other little things. Obviously a better graphics card would probably help with these things.
__________________
- Mike

http://rhetoriccamel.blogspot.com

Last edited by Rhetoric Camel : 17-09-2007 at 02:38 PM.
Rhetoric Camel is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.