Introduction to Maya - Modeling Fundamentals Vol 1
This course will look at the fundamentals of modeling in Maya with an emphasis on creating good topology. We'll look at what makes a good model in Maya and why objects are modeled in the way they are.
# 1 12-06-2015 , 10:51 PM

Halftrack wheel - boolean divide fails & alternatives

Hey guys, first post here so thank you all for having me.

user added image

A quick introduction, I am a graphic designer/illustrator who is gearing up to use Maya in his workflow. To start off I decided to model a more modern German halftrack I concepted a while ago. Due to it's blocky shape it's mostly a hard surface project and it should give me an opportunity to learn.

I'm trying to cut deep circular holes into the rubber track of the front wheels using boolean divide. unfortunately, this operation makes my mesh dissapear. After googling I understand the geometry is probably too complex to perform booleans now. Is there a way around this? Or are there any other options?

Here is my original concept:
user added image

Progress so far:
user added image

Thanks in advance!

# 2 13-06-2015 , 01:56 AM
Technical Director
Hi Vince, welcome!

Which version of Maya are you using? In 2015 and higher, booleans are a lot more forgiving than in previous versions.

There are a bunch of reasons why the operation might fail. First, try deleting the history of the objects before performing the operation. If that doesn't work, try another boolean method. Does it still fail? Another thing you could try is adding more divisions along the length of the cylinders, and then trying again.

Imagination is more important than knowledge.
# 3 13-06-2015 , 07:52 AM