Maya 2020 fundamentals - modelling the real world
Get halfway through a model and find it's an unworkable mess? Can't add edge loops where you need them? Can't subdivide a mesh properly? If any of this sounds familiar check this course out.
# 1 16-11-2014 , 09:06 PM

My elephant model

So i recently finished my elephant model, i took some time today to clear up the very last details of this, and i started messing around with the lights, i know i had some problems because the shadow didnt show up as much as i wanted it to, because i was using aiSky and aiSkyDomeLight the light from my sun (pointlight with shadows and a tiny bit yellow intensity), anyways i ended up making a few renders (one with only my sunlight as a light in the scene, to get the shadows, one render with all the lights on, an AO render and a mask render to get rid of the background, also a wireframe render).

the reason why im writing this is because im an amateur with lighting, and if you see an easier way to get the result i got, i'd love to hear about it. I'd rather have my shadows coming from the HDRI image, but i won't get any noticeable shadows or any sharp shadows, which i need to make it look realistic.

user added image
user added image

20 year old guy from Sweden

Big Bob Marley fan
Love skateboarding
Maya, Mudbox and Photoshop user

Full name: Marcus Ralman

https://www.facebook.com/MarcusRalman3D

^ My facebook page ^
# 2 16-11-2014 , 09:52 PM
EduSciVis-er
Hey skalman, looks great! I can't crit the lighting too much. If it looks good, you've done it the right way user added image. The thing that is jumping out at me unfortunately is the elephant trunk. Elephants have two adjacent nostrils like us. Also I would make the "finger" on the end of the trunk more pronounced, since they can actually pick up objects delicately with the end of their trunk (the morphology here depends on whether it is african or asian).

# 3 16-11-2014 , 10:10 PM