SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / your most commonly used keyboard shortcuts?
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 23-06-2010, 09:13 PM   #16
bullet1968
Lifetime Member
 
bullet1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Thanks: 158
Thanked 651 Times in 621 Posts
Default

Yeh Perfecto,

shift-d is cool isnt it!!!! make the copy ctrl-d, move to where you want and shift-d all day

LOL cheers bullet

stwert..I think you do have to set it for what you want shift-D. I have mine set @ -1 in x and leave it at that..mostly for mirroring fuselage etc
__________________
bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
bullet1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2010, 09:28 PM   #17
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
Thanks: 4
Thanked 298 Times in 288 Posts
Default

holdng d for moving the pivot
and
alt+h to hide everything other than the select object.

those are handy ones.
honestdom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2010, 09:41 PM   #18
bullet1968
Lifetime Member
 
bullet1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Thanks: 158
Thanked 651 Times in 621 Posts
Default

I didnt know that 'd' shortcut hammer!!!!!!!! bloody wicked man!!!! I have been using 'insert' etc etc all this time!!! which was a pain...and if you hold 'd and v or x' together it will snap to vert or grid...you just made my bloody day!

cheers bullet
__________________
bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
bullet1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2010, 09:43 PM   #19
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,373
Thanks: 74
Thanked 710 Times in 642 Posts
Default

Yeah, I just said that on the last page ... along with a bunch of other random crap.
Try the MMB trick. Pretty sweeet.
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2010, 11:20 PM   #20
bullet1968
Lifetime Member
 
bullet1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Thanks: 158
Thanked 651 Times in 621 Posts
Default

LOL sorry stwert didnt see it...........old man syndrome
__________________
bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
bullet1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-2010, 07:23 PM   #21
Falott
Registered User
 
Falott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: vienna
Posts: 1,095
Thanks: 3
Thanked 20 Times in 18 Posts
Default

unfortunately the whole keyboard is mapped with shortcuts. I heavily depend on marking menus...
__________________
everything starts and ends in the right place at the right time.
Falott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-2010, 08:01 PM   #22
G-Man
Subscriber
 
G-Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bowling Green. Kentucky U.S.A.
Posts: 810
Thanks: 9
Thanked 27 Times in 23 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Jay
That dupe special key is a godsend where I come from. Why people dont use it I'll never know. You can set objects the exact same space apart without arsing with snapping and guess work. Its very cool for architectural work , for pillars and stuff. LOZ Im surprised you arent a fan, especially being a so called hardsurface guru. That command is in my tool box for sure

cheers
Jay
I use the command quite often mate, but not the short cut. Generally i have to change the settings in the option box each time i use the command again, for instance duplicating negative across x, then duplicating negative across y right after. the shortcut wont open the options box for me, so i have a shelf button for the DsO. if for some reason i am duplicating two separate objects with the same parameters then i will use the shortcut key, its just rare the i need the keyboard short cut for it.

make sense?

@ Perfecto & Bullet....funny that you use shift-d for that, the actual short cut is mapped to "D" normally i just hit caps lock and press d....less key strokes. or I'll press Shift-d and then g until i am done.

g-man
__________________
Follow My Business
On The Web!
Or
On Facebook!
G-Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 03:43 AM   #23
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,373
Thanks: 74
Thanked 710 Times in 642 Posts
Default

Just had a stroke of brilliance (if I do say so myself :p ), I remapped Ctrl+D (that's Ctrl Shift d) to DuplicateSpecialOptions. Now the options box pops up every time I hit the hotkey... and I can use the hotkey now.
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.