SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Maya Questions / Maya Modeling / Converting Subdivs to Polygons

Maya Modeling Everything on Modeling Techniques and Tools - NURBS, Polygons and Subdivisions Related in this Section.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
14-02-2007, 12:09 PM   #1
Peppomanien
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 34
Converting Subdivs to Polygons
Hello people,
I have a problem: Ive created a subdivision moel but it takes a lot of ressurces from my system. Because of this I get problems in duplicating it. And so ive converted it into Polygons hoping I could decrease the (megabyte) sice of the scene. But the scene sice of the Polygon is exactly the same sice of the subdivision. Even a very low-Polygon version of my Model takes a unexpected high space sice. How is this possible?
And: is it possible to convert Subdivisions into Polygons so they take a normal scene sice?

Ive also made a test:
The scene of my Polygon model has 23000 faces and takes 13 mb
If you duplicate in a new scene polygon-cubes until you also reach 23000 faces the scene takes 4 mb. <- this 4 mb are the "Normal scens sice" to me.
__________________
H?
  Reply with quote
14-02-2007, 01:19 PM   #2
publicFunction
Senior Software Developer
 
publicFunction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Livingston, Scotland
Posts: 1,701
Sounds like you have a lot of history left in the project. Run File Optimise and also edit delete by type history.

Also when converting from Sub-D's to polys use the vertices option, this will bring it down to the poly amount to a really low level.
__________________
Chris (formerly R@nSiD)
Twitter
When the power of love overcomes the love of power the world will truely know peace - Jimmy Hendrix
Winner SM VFX Challenge 1
3rd Place SM SteamPunk Challenge (May 2007)
  Reply with quote
15-02-2007, 10:06 AM   #3
Peppomanien
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 34
Thanks for your reply. Indeed, I had Construction History activated. How can I delete it from my object?

Ive tried to duplicate it without using construction History and converting the new object into Subdivision. But it seems that the construction History has duplicated, too. Or it was deleted from the Object but still "hides" somewhere in the scene.
__________________
H?
  Reply with quote
15-02-2007, 10:11 AM   #4
Peppomanien
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 34
Ok, Ive found it. Sometimes it helps to turn on the brain and searching on your own!

Again, R@nSiD, thanks for your help!
__________________
H?
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problems converting NURBS to Polygons gsradio Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 1 05-12-2005 11:31 PM
Converting nurbs to polygons wirercx Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 1 02-09-2005 09:42 PM
Converting nurbs to polygons wirercx Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 11 02-09-2005 03:12 PM
problems converting poly's to subdivs Psuedo Realizm Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 1 20-01-2004 01:21 AM
Subdiv's to Polygons properly? M Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 8 28-01-2003 09:35 PM