SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Maya 4.5 Unlim & Mental Ray 1.5

Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge Please post in this section ONLY if your question doesn't fit in anywhere else on the forum, or if you're not sure which section it's relevant to. We also have Free streaming trial available.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
28-01-2003, 07:04 PM   #1
clownfunk
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 1
Maya 4.5 Unlim & Mental Ray 1.5
How do I render Sub Div objects using mental ray. When I try, the output is blank. Any ideas.

Thanks in advance
Darren
  Reply with quote
28-01-2003, 10:30 PM   #2
Tolerate
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Taunton, UK
Posts: 128
Mental Ray doesn'r support SubDs to my knowledge
  Reply with quote
28-01-2003, 10:36 PM   #3
roach105
Subscriber
 
roach105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: T.O Baby!
Posts: 1,016
MR does not support subD's yet. You must convert your surfaces to nurbs or good old polygon's.

From my understanding people usually convert models to nurbs or poly's anyways. I don't know many people who keep there models as a subD surface
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Command window error on Maya 2012 filip321 Maya Technical Issues 0 04-11-2015 08:46 PM
HELP PLEASE Dushyant Maya Technical Issues 12 25-08-2012 08:49 AM
A Mental Ray for Maya forum please Jim Board Questions & Suggestions 8 05-02-2003 03:14 PM
Mental Ray for Maya 1.5 - OUT NOW Kevin Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 12 21-12-2002 10:07 PM
maya and mental ray (public beta?) philip - liquid.arts Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 30 07-10-2002 01:41 PM