SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Maya Questions / Maya Technical Issues / Maya Very Slow When Opening Older Verison File

Maya Technical Issues Post all your interface and configuration related problems with Maya software here.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
 
Thread Tools
15-04-2012, 07:52 PM   #1
eneuman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 78
Maya Very Slow When Opening Older Verison File
Hello,
I have a file I created using Maya 2009. I put it in dropbox while i got my computer fixed. once i got my computer fixed i upgraded to Maya 2012. but now i downloaded and opened my file from dropbox and Maya is really slow. its still the same computer but i dont know if i need to change anything so it runs in Maya 2012 like it did when i created it in 2009.
thanks in advance
Edward
  Reply with quote
15-04-2012, 08:13 PM   #2
NextDesign
Technical Director
 
NextDesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,988
If you save the file in 2012, then reopen it, is it still slow?

One of the big differences between 2012 and 2009 is the jump to Qt for the UI. It might be that.
__________________
Imagination is more important than knowledge.
  Reply with quote
15-04-2012, 08:15 PM   #3
eneuman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 78
yea i tried saving it in 2012 and restarting and its still slow. and it's happening with all the files i saved in dropbox
  Reply with quote
15-04-2012, 08:34 PM   #4
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,374
Are you opening the file from dropbox or downloading a copy locally and then opening it from there? I know that's not really how dropbox works, but I'm trying to get a sense if it's anything to do with dropbox.
  Reply with quote
15-04-2012, 08:51 PM   #5
eneuman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 78
It doesnt have to do with dropbox because i also uploaded it to turbosquid and downloaded the file from there and same results
  Reply with quote
16-04-2012, 10:29 PM   #6
eneuman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 78
all my files are the same way. i dont know what to do, i really need help
thanks
Edward
  Reply with quote
16-04-2012, 10:54 PM   #7
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,374
Have you tried deleting your prefs folder and/or reinstalling maya?
  Reply with quote
16-04-2012, 11:41 PM   #8
eneuman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 78
Yea and i even tried Reinstalling on a different computer and it is still slow
  Reply with quote
17-04-2012, 12:08 AM   #9
eneuman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 78
one thing i just figured out is that when i switch to wireframe view, it runs perfectly but when i switch back, it becomes slow again
  Reply with quote
17-04-2012, 01:12 AM   #10
NextDesign
Technical Director
 
NextDesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,988
What are the specs of both machines?
__________________
Imagination is more important than knowledge.
  Reply with quote
17-04-2012, 03:21 AM   #11
ctbram
Moderator
 
ctbram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 2,997
I hate QT! I deeply believe all the problems that I have started encountering since switching to Maya 2012 are all related to QT. The most annoying of which is the damn screen no longer refreshing. It's completely random too. I can model for two minutes or 20 hours before the screen stops refreshing and the channel box and outlining are blank, forcing me to restart Maya! There is no excuse for this! I use Modo, Max, Blender, Inventor, Alias and none of them have any problems with my graphics card! Maya 2009 and lower run fine on my system. From the time they switched to QT it has just been a nightmare and I am not buying a $6000 graphics card just to use Maya! I'll use a freaking crayon and paper first!
__________________
"If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants." Sir Isaac Newton, 1675
  Reply with quote
17-04-2012, 04:10 AM   #12
eneuman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 78
------------------
System Information
------------------
Time of this report: 4/20/2012, 21:09:52
Machine name: Edward-PC
Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 32-bit (6.1, Build 7601) Service Pack 1 (7601.win7sp1_gdr.111118-2330)
Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: Dell Inc.
System Model: Dell DXC061
BIOS: Phoenix ROM BIOS PLUS Version 1.10 2.4.0
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 CPU 6300 @ 1.86GHz (2 CPUs), ~1.9GHz
Memory: 2048MB RAM
Available OS Memory: 2046MB RAM
Page File: 2004MB used, 2087MB available
Windows Dir: C:\Windows
DirectX Version: DirectX 11
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
User DPI Setting: Using System DPI
System DPI Setting: 96 DPI (100 percent)
DWM DPI Scaling: Disabled
DxDiag Version: 6.01.7601.17514 32bit Unicode
  Reply with quote
17-04-2012, 04:46 AM   #13
NextDesign
Technical Director
 
NextDesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,988
Just so you know, your machine is at the BARE minimum of running Maya. Just like games and other software, newer versions will demand more power in your machine. Your processors are slow, you don't have all that much memory, and I don't even know what graphics card you have. ATI HD 2000?

If you're going to stick with 2012, I would HIGHLY recommend that you invest even 10% of what you paid for Maya in upgrading your machine.

Quote:
I hate QT! I deeply believe all the problems that I have started encountering since switching to Maya 2012 are all related to QT.
Dude you don't even know the half of it. On the Mac, scrolling in the attribute editor is ridiculously slow, and the attribute editor has an annoying tendency to want to be on top of every application you have open at all times. I have NEVER used a Qt application that was bug-free.
__________________
Imagination is more important than knowledge.

Last edited by NextDesign; 17-04-2012 at 04:49 AM.
  Reply with quote
17-04-2012, 05:23 AM   #14
eneuman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 78
But i dont think thats whats causing the problem since it worked perfectly before i got it fixed. I even ran 2012 on a laptop and the files worked perfectly.
  Reply with quote
17-04-2012, 05:31 AM   #15
NextDesign
Technical Director
 
NextDesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,988
You're comparing across machines, which won't help us find a solution.

If you really want to check it out, attach the file here, and we can take a look at it. If it's slow on our machines, it's the file. If it's not, it's your machine. Just saying "the file is slow" isn't very helpful in debugging this issue. :/
__________________
Imagination is more important than knowledge.
  Reply with quote
Reply
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
// Error: line 0: Error reading file. PiroEfekta Programming 13 03-08-2016 05:52 PM
Error Reading File... HELP ME PLEASE roryfollansbee Challenge Forum 1 16-04-2016 09:00 AM
trouble opening maya scene jooleyinboots Maya Technical Issues 2 03-02-2014 09:11 PM
how do i open a maya 2008 file as a maya 8.5 file mr pix. Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 29-02-2008 04:53 AM
Maya Doesn't Startup Properly - Just Script Editor threedsnack Maya Technical Issues 1 04-02-2008 11:55 AM