SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Maya Questions / Maya Modeling / Polygon Proxy Mode

Maya Modeling Everything on Modeling Techniques and Tools - NURBS, Polygons and Subdivisions Related in this Section.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
12-02-2003, 02:26 AM   #1
Dann
Registered User
 
Dann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 695
Polygon Proxy Mode
In the docs, I've read about working in Proxy mode. I'm not 100% sure how this is used in Maya, but I want to experiment. The thing is I can't find where I switch between Standard/Proxy mode. Where is it?
  Reply with quote
12-02-2003, 06:07 AM   #2
sdch1000
Subscriber
 
sdch1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Miami, FL. USA
Posts: 110
This is subdivision surfaces. From the Modeling toolset look under "Subdiv Surface". You can also switch between the 2 by just right-clicking on the Subdiv surface and select Polygon or Standard.
__________________
Steven C.
  Reply with quote
14-02-2003, 12:31 AM   #3
tariqrf
Subscriber
 
tariqrf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,253
thats the only way i work with subdivs (well, 90 % of the time) ... try maya's doc's hand tutorial.. it shows you how to make a hand using the polygon proxy mode..
__________________
:banana: :mingun: :yipee: :mingun: :bgreen: :mingun: :argue:
  Reply with quote
14-02-2003, 08:57 PM   #4
Kühl
Subscriber
 
Kühl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 329
Theres another way than using sub-d's. The polygon proxy mode is archived by selecting your poly object and goto polygons > smooth proxy. In the layer menu you can choose different ways of viewing. By standard you will see the smoothed version under your lowpoly model.

This is much different from sub-d's, because you do not create an sub-object. You just see all the time how your modelling is affecting your smoothed object. Pretty cool.
__________________
Kühl
  Reply with quote
14-02-2003, 09:31 PM   #5
Kühl
Subscriber
 
Kühl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 329
Oh... using the smooth proxy mode, it can also be helpful to have only one side of your object showing the smooth under the original lowpoly. At least it gives you a better overview.

Do this by selecting your half head (before you make an instance) and choose polygons > smooth proxy. Then chose your proxy object and dublicate it as an instance (scale -1).

Then you can work with your lowpoly on the instance and immediately see the smoothed affection on the other side of the head. Might seem confusing, but it works.
__________________
Kühl
  Reply with quote
19-02-2003, 08:05 PM   #6
Nem
Subscriber
 
Nem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Faringdon, UK
Posts: 1,480
the smooth proxy mode is only in maya 4.5 btw
__________________
- Simon

My Website: www.Glass-Prison.com

Last edited by Nem; 21-02-2003 at 04:44 PM.
  Reply with quote
19-02-2003, 08:33 PM   #7
Kurt
Registered User
 
Kurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Niagara Falls, Canada
Posts: 5,310
Nem its in 4.0 also.....
__________________
I am enough of an artist to draw freely upon my imagination, knowledge is limited, imagination encircles the world. (Albert Einstein)

https://www.artstation.com/kurtb
  Reply with quote
20-02-2003, 04:23 PM   #8
alexgc
Subscriber
 
alexgc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: London
Posts: 288
yup it sure is, under the subdiv surfaces menu - Its my preferred way of working
  Reply with quote
20-02-2003, 06:17 PM   #9
Nem
Subscriber
 
Nem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Faringdon, UK
Posts: 1,480
i think theres a difference between the two
poly proxy (under subd menu) works with subd surfaces as the actual model
smooth proxy (under poly menu) works with polys

if you wanted to have complete control over ur model, then smooth proxy is the way to go because you can edit the smooth mesh
__________________
- Simon

My Website: www.Glass-Prison.com
  Reply with quote
20-02-2003, 06:44 PM   #10
Kühl
Subscriber
 
Kühl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 329
exactly nem...
__________________
Kühl
  Reply with quote
21-02-2003, 10:21 AM   #11
alexgc
Subscriber
 
alexgc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: London
Posts: 288
right u are Nem - my bad lol
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Create polygon tool Srkukali Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 0 23-01-2014 02:40 PM
How do you: Undo Polygon Smooth Proxy? stickdude Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 3 13-01-2006 12:03 AM
UV mapping on polygon smooth proxy kazama Maya Materials & Textures 0 09-07-2003 05:39 PM
Modelingproblem on a Polygon Proxy!.... please help!! bastiaanwormgoor Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 10 09-05-2003 03:15 PM
Removing subd edges while in polygon proxy mode cb8rwh Maya Modeling 0 12-01-2003 11:57 PM