SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / maya open scene not showing everything

Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge Please post in this section ONLY if your question doesn't fit in anywhere else on the forum, or if you're not sure which section it's relevant to. We also have Free streaming trial available.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
16-09-2013, 07:35 PM   #1
adds101
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 2
maya open scene not showing everything
Hey guys,

I am having this odd problem When I go to open my scene via file open it doesnt display all my scene objects.

But when I goto file import it shows everthing.

Any help will be appreciated guys.
  Reply with quote
19-09-2013, 01:03 PM   #2
LauriePriest
Moderator
 
LauriePriest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: London
Posts: 1,001
Its probably the settings in the envrionment, check that you diplay option allow the displaying of the objects you're trying to view.

The big difference between opening and importing is that when you open it will open the maya file (including the environment). When you import it is importing the contents of the maya file into your current environment (which might have the display>polygons .. etc) set differently.
__________________
FX supervisor - double negative
  Reply with quote
21-09-2013, 09:58 AM   #3
adds101
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 2
Thank you for that. . I ended up reinstalling the software which seemed to have done the trick.

Thank you for replying though!
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cant open file Jimmer Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 0 18-09-2014 03:58 AM
trouble starting maya 2009 Typh Maya Technical Issues 2 03-01-2010 08:33 AM
Big Scene Won't Open Cpt_CryBaby Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 1 15-05-2009 07:11 PM
how do i open a maya 2008 file as a maya 8.5 file mr pix. Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 29-02-2008 04:53 AM
Output Window Doesn't Open When Maya Starts InsightfulMind Maya Technical Issues 0 28-04-2006 06:34 PM