Substance Painter
In this start to finish texturing project within Substance Painter we cover all the techniques you need to texture the robot character.
# 1 22-01-2009 , 09:14 PM

trouble with edges

I can seem to figure out how to get rid of sharp, pinched places in my models. I'm pretty sure this has something to do with edges, because they occur where I combine polygons, or bridge polys, or create polys to fill gaps.

I am using maya 2009, I am very experienced with Lightwave, but I am completely new to Maya.

Thanks,
jk

# 2 22-01-2009 , 10:41 PM
Super Moderator
Do the pinched areas show up when you smooth? Because it could be that those edges/verts aren't merged. A screengrab would help.

- Genny
# 3 23-01-2009 , 01:33 PM
Thanks for the reply. I can only see the edges when I smooth the model. I've tried merging the verticies and edges. Although I am a little confused about merging edges... I've used the tool on the offending edges, but it tends to tell me I need to select more than one edge and doesn't help. Maybe I'm using it wrong. Here are some pics of the edges I am having trouble with.

Thanks,
jk

Attached Thumbnails
# 4 23-01-2009 , 01:34 PM
problem edges...:headbang:

Attached Thumbnails
# 5 23-01-2009 , 05:47 PM
it looks like you still need to merge verts before smoothing - try increasing the distance in your options. you may also want to play with the soften / harden normals tool. user added image

# 6 23-01-2009 , 06:31 PM
It appears that the vertices are fine... try to soften the edges before you smooth the mash (Normals>Soften Edge). That should do it...
Benny

When in doubt, delete history and freeze transformations.

My latest snake game
(Requires DirectX9 SDK and Framework)
# 7 27-01-2009 , 01:18 PM
Thanks for the suggestions, but still no solutions.

I incrreased the merge threshold incrementally until the polys started to collapse, to no avail.

The soften edge tool reduced the length of the creases, but did not eliminate them.