Introduction to Maya - Modeling Fundamentals Vol 1
This course will look at the fundamentals of modeling in Maya with an emphasis on creating good topology. We'll look at what makes a good model in Maya and why objects are modeled in the way they are.
# 1 07-09-2008 , 07:20 AM
Subscriber

maya question about modeling

hey,i just started a tutorial and i just saw that his maya was having modeling section(animation,polygone,surface are exemple of section that im talking about)...i dont seem to have any modeling option on mine...im very new to maya and im using the newest version...Someone can tell me how to set it on modeling or what could be the same thing on the newest version pls?

# 2 07-09-2008 , 07:46 AM
Lifetime Member
The modelling menu was split up into two menus in later versions of Maya.The polygons menu set contains all things to do with polygons and the Surfaces menu contains all the tools for Nurbs and Subdivisional surfaces.

The Polygon menu was renamed Mesh

The Edit Polygon menu was renamed Edit Mesh

You can't change the menus back to the older layout but all the old tools still exist in one of these menus and you can create a custom menue set if you want by selecting custom at the bottom of the menu list.

2 x Modeling Challenge Winner
# 3 07-09-2008 , 07:58 AM
Subscriber