SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Help: Inserting Edge Loop issues

Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge Please post in this section ONLY if your question doesn't fit in anywhere else on the forum, or if you're not sure which section it's relevant to. We also have Free streaming trial available.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
20-10-2016, 01:06 PM   #1
GabrielG
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 13
Help: Inserting Edge Loop issues
Hello all,

I am new to Maya and trying to insert edge loops, but there seems to be an issue: either the edge looped doesn't appear on certain faces (will miss one or two), or doesn't appear fully (you'll see it dip in and out of a face), and sometimes if it does appear, it warps the model (pulls or pushes the face its running through)?



I have attached images


many thanks )

[Solved: In case anyone has had a similar issue arise, turns out I unknowingly duplicated my mesh, which was the cause for the odd looking edge loops! A clean up merged the faces & vertices which had stacked and provided the solution]
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Maya Screen 1.jpg
Views:	38
Size:	666.6 KB
ID:	57352   Click image for larger version

Name:	Maya Screen 2.jpg
Views:	37
Size:	668.3 KB
ID:	57353   Click image for larger version

Name:	Maya Screen 3.jpg
Views:	35
Size:	678.7 KB
ID:	57354  

Last edited by GabrielG; 20-10-2016 at 04:06 PM.
  Reply with quote
20-10-2016, 09:28 PM   #2
cj74
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 107
Not sure what the issue is but to remedy it try splitting it maybe. L
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Edge loop showing only a dot problem. S0NOfG0D Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 14 20-01-2015 03:02 PM
Problem with Insert Edge Loop Tool looni Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 13-12-2014 10:18 AM
Wedge face and select edge loop help Darwinbc Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 1 18-11-2009 08:40 PM
Insert Edge Loop not displaying halfloaf Maya Technical Issues 2 12-04-2009 08:48 PM
'to edge loop' --- not selecting edges ronviers Maya Modeling 4 14-11-2007 03:55 AM