Substance Painter
In this start to finish texturing project within Substance Painter we cover all the techniques you need to texture the robot character.
# 1 14-03-2017 , 03:21 AM

Displacement_Map_Render

I am getting a strange result when applying a displacement map made in Mudbox to an object in Maya. All the sides of the object
pop off. Please see 3 pics attached. Any ideas would be great, I am a newbie, thanks.

Brandon C.

Attached Thumbnails

Last edited by Bcurless; 14-03-2017 at 03:27 AM. Reason: Changing pics attached
# 2 14-03-2017 , 09:51 AM
Lead Modeler - Framestore
Hi Bcurless

displacement maps are always a bit of an entity in themselves but the other issue people always seem to forget about is the actual geometry itself that the map is being applied to.

I'm sure you dont need telling this but firstly check that all the geometry is intact and the edges/verts are all merged together as expected.

But secondly and very importantly, is to make sure the mesh is updated with the one you did your sculpt on, and also make sure you have one or two levels of subdivision to support the displacement map itself. People always seem to forget about the geometry update. You are sculpting and changing the geometry so its important that it gets updated in maya too. So export a level one or level 2 subdivision from mudbox. At the moment the base mesh has nothing to support the displacement. Gone are the days where we worry about poly count as much, obviously how many polys is always down to how good hardware is but for the most part, one or two divisions up from the base mesh will not hurt.

Also with regards to the map is it a 32bit?

hope this helps

Jay

# 3 17-03-2017 , 05:01 AM

Displacement_Map_Render