Digital humans the art of the digital double
Ever wanted to know how digital doubles are created in the movie industry? This course will give you an insight into how it's done.
# 1 11-03-2014 , 03:28 PM

Beginner - Mirror Object - Center Axis?

Hey hey,

so i'm a beginner in Maya because i worked with cinema 4d for years now.
My Problem is that i want to Mirror an Objekt by using the "duplicate special" function,
but when i do this i always get this little gap between the parts.

user added image

I think the problem is that my "pivot" isn't centered?

user added image

but i realy can't figure out how to center this thing with my vertexes on the edge,
is there some kind of numeric window i can just type in the coordinates of the pivot?

would be gerate to get some hints about how to solve this problem!user added image

best greetings,
haiqu

# 2 11-03-2014 , 06:42 PM
Super Moderator
Center pivot is under the Modify menu, however, in this case I think what you'll need to do is snap the pivot to the grid. Hit your insert key and turn on grid snapping(it's the leftmost magnet icon on the top of your screen) or just temporarily activate it by holding down the x key. Hit insert key again to get out of pivot mode.

- Genny
# 3 11-03-2014 , 06:54 PM
Subscriber
What Gen said is true but in case you built the model off the grid line vert snap it to the edge of the model by hitting your insert key and holding "V" instead of "X". Hit insert key again to get out of pivot mode.

# 4 12-03-2014 , 06:50 AM
Lifetime Member

Im probably wrong...

I have not been a student for years, only returned to 3d last night after LONG hiatus....
Also I am at work on my tablet and cant test this...

However. Tweets reply seems to me to be missing something....

The way I do it is to hit insert to get the pivot 'thingie' up.
You briefly move the x axis handle (if your mirroring that way)
you hold V as tweet says...