SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Maya Questions / Maya Modeling / Normals problem

Maya Modeling Everything on Modeling Techniques and Tools - NURBS, Polygons and Subdivisions Related in this Section.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
27-06-2014, 06:18 PM   #1
madwh
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 30
Normals problem
I'm trying to fix a model I made some time ago and I can't find a way to fix the normals on these faces. They're pretty even, they shouldn't be so dark, they look ugly in the render. Set to face and softening normals doesn't work, any ideas? Thank you.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	face normals.png
Views:	255
Size:	181.1 KB
ID:	55907  
  Reply with quote
27-06-2014, 06:25 PM   #2
daverave
The thin red line
 
daverave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: England
Posts: 4,472
Try running a mesh cleanup (under mesh)on it.................dave
__________________


Avatar Challenge Winner 2010
  Reply with quote
27-06-2014, 06:57 PM   #3
madwh
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 30
I tried that and it doesn't do anything, I also merged it, deleted history etc, extracted those face and rebuilt them, nothing seems to work.
  Reply with quote
27-06-2014, 07:52 PM   #4
daverave
The thin red line
 
daverave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: England
Posts: 4,472
Could you show a wire only shot..............dave
__________________


Avatar Challenge Winner 2010
  Reply with quote
27-06-2014, 08:00 PM   #5
madwh
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 30
Here it is, I'm also attaching a tiny zip with an obj of that section.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	cgnghgh.png
Views:	136
Size:	62.8 KB
ID:	55908  
Attached Files
File Type: zip obj.zip (6.4 KB, 69 views)
  Reply with quote
27-06-2014, 10:29 PM   #6
daverave
The thin red line
 
daverave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: England
Posts: 4,472
If you select all the verts and "unlock normal" should clear the black marks, you need to clean your mesh as you go along, there are to many ngons and parts of the that mesh that are not connected..................dave
__________________


Avatar Challenge Winner 2010
  Reply with quote
27-06-2014, 10:47 PM   #7
madwh
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 30
Yea that's what I'm working on, fixing the geometry and all the ngons. I tried "Unlock Normals" but then all the faces are visible and if I do a "Soften Edge" I'm back to where I was. I kinda just gave up, I started retopologizing it 3d-coat.
  Reply with quote
27-06-2014, 11:05 PM   #8
daverave
The thin red line
 
daverave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: England
Posts: 4,472
You can change the soften angle to say some thing like 45-60 that should stop the distortions on the 90 degree angles..............dave
__________________


Avatar Challenge Winner 2010
  Reply with quote
27-06-2014, 11:44 PM   #9
madwh
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 30
That almost fixes it but... hm I think I'll just continue with the retopoligizing now. That's really good to know though, thank you.
  Reply with quote
28-06-2014, 07:56 PM   #10
user12
Registered User
 
user12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 53
"Set to Face" should work if you go in it´s settings and choose "Match face normal"

And of course check your topology - if you´re not using the mesh for a game Environment I would do this with "Smooth Mesh" (Button 3) instead of softening the Normals... personal pref
  Reply with quote
29-06-2014, 07:08 PM   #11
Skalman
Registered User
 
Skalman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 293
try deleting the faces and bridge them again
__________________
20 year old guy from Sweden



Big Bob Marley fan
Love skateboarding
Maya, Mudbox and Photoshop user

Full name: Marcus Ralman


https://www.facebook.com/MarcusRalman3D

^ My facebook page ^
  Reply with quote
30-06-2014, 12:24 AM   #12
madwh
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 30
Thanks for all the help, I'm ok with the normals for now. Just trying to figure out the topology. Is it ok to have many triangles if drawing extra lines just to have quads wouldn't actually change the geometry? Or is it considered bad geometry to have all those triangles? Thank you.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	re ex.png
Views:	108
Size:	62.4 KB
ID:	55910   Click image for larger version

Name:	Untitled.png
Views:	111
Size:	93.6 KB
ID:	55911  
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem with normals ikariM Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 0 30-10-2016 12:18 PM
Polygon normals Problem abed Maya Technical Issues 2 11-10-2007 07:58 AM
Normals Problem Matt1234 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 1 15-02-2005 10:14 PM
Soften problem Normals? Scraggy_dog Maya Modeling 3 22-06-2004 11:33 AM
Normals Problem? bjbowen4 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 11 20-12-2003 04:09 PM