SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-02-2006, 10:25 PM   #1
Brantis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Unhappy IsoParm Crash

I am having a tough time with Maya being a beginner and everything..

However, my problem is not with being a beginner..it is with adding an isoparm.

I havent changed any settings, But...
I am using the Puppy tutorial. and when I try to add an IsoParm to my ear to reshape it, as soon as I click and drag the desired new isoparm....Maya crashes and I have to shut it down.

I am like...Half way through the tutorial, and I just wanted to shape up the model, but ..Unfortunatly I cant create a new isoparm

Hopefully someone knows how to help...

Thanks Alot,
Brantis
Brantis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2006, 10:29 PM   #2
magicsy
Subscriber
 
magicsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Leeds
Posts: 1,154
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

how much memory do u have cause i think its a memory problem. mine does it if i use to many cut faces tool and i have 1024 of mem.
magicsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2006, 10:53 PM   #3
Brantis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

512..

But everything was working fine until I shut my computer down for the night and started working on it today...

The first thing that I did was open it and then start editing my ear...and the first thing I did was try to add Isoparm...
Brantis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2006, 05:36 AM   #4
vasvaas
Registered User
 
vasvaas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 118
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

did any error appear before closin maya?
__________________
Yo mamma!
vasvaas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2006, 05:51 PM   #5
Brantis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default yes

Here is a list of "exactly" what happens....

Open Puppy model...

Center My Ear for editing...

Select Move tool.....

Right Click - Hold, select Isoparm...

Now when shift click on any isoparm to make a new one... thats when it freezes...

the only way for me to do anything in maya is to give it the three finger salute to shut it down. Every other project that I do works fine....except for this one mode. and im not sure why

Note..maybe I should have just said it "Hangs" Maya instead of calling it a "Crash"....Because I mean..it doesn't close itself...it just kinda... Hangs there....But i was really tired when I had originally posted this.


Hope that helps something..

Last edited by Brantis : 05-02-2006 at 09:45 PM.
Brantis is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.