SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-07-2005, 11:29 AM   #1
herr_klaus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 61
Default mixing textures in Maya

http://www.3dtotal.com/team/Tutorial...usb/window.asp

I was wondering how to mix textures in Maya






to achieve this kind of effect



thaNks
__________________
tck
herr_klaus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2005, 12:57 PM   #2
NitroLiq
Moderator
 
NitroLiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,133
Default

You would use a blend node in Maya and a b/w grunge map to control the actual blend value. The attached image shows a quick example...two different texture files and respective bumpmaps plugged into two blinns plugged into the blend node. Then theres a grungemap I painted in photoshop controlling the blend node's alpha setting.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	screen.jpg
Views:	196
Size:	35.8 KB
ID:	22215  
__________________
"Terminat Bora Diem, Terminal Auctor opus."
NitroLiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2005, 04:41 PM   #3
herr_klaus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 61
Default

hello nitroliq thanks for the information , i'm gonna try it out...
__________________
tck
herr_klaus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2005, 05:36 PM   #4
mhcannon
Subscriber
 
mhcannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Waianae, HI
Posts: 1,275
Default

Might also look at layered shaders.
__________________

AIM: mhcannonDMC

"If you love your job, you'll never work another day in your life."
mhcannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2005, 05:59 PM   #5
herr_klaus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 61
Default

I heard that layered shaders are quite expensive for your system resources.
Is that true ?
__________________
tck
herr_klaus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2005, 06:41 PM   #6
NitroLiq
Moderator
 
NitroLiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,133
Default

Anything can be intensive...depends how complex things get and how much has to be calculated. For what you want to do and what is being done in the 3dtotal examples the blend node is really what you're looking for.
__________________
"Terminat Bora Diem, Terminal Auctor opus."
NitroLiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2005, 06:12 PM   #7
herr_klaus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 61
Default

I see , but anyways thanks for the advice i appreciate that
__________________
tck
herr_klaus is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 10:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 08:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 10:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 02:45 AM