Substance Painter
In this start to finish texturing project within Substance Painter we cover all the techniques you need to texture the robot character.
# 1 11-09-2002 , 06:39 PM

how would i go about this night mare

ok,
this model is scaring me shitless(the underside of it)...hope you guys have a similar model and can advise on the approach i'd take(i hope to do this with nurbs).
since i come from a max background i'd tackle this model with spline modelling i.e builduing the cage with 3 or four sided patches...no problem,evry thing would be one full continious mesh.i know maya has the square tool and the boundary tool but it seams a bit tedious...dunno !!!.
has any body used max here ???.
tahnx in advance
b

# 2 12-09-2002 , 12:00 AM

Actually..

Actually, you answered your own question a bit i thinkuser added image

That's where I would start.
Since it is not an object(s) that needs to deform, you can use a number of ways such as:

Booleans
Birail tools
etc.

I'm no expert, but personaly, I would try one of these ways first:
Draw out some profile curves, mixing and matching curve degrees, you know, for the edges/bevels, then draw out your rail curves, birail, and see what you get.

Tweak from there.

I'll try doing it right now to see what the easiest way for me to attack that would be....

Then I'll post my resultsuser added image

Sound good?

Gimme a minute....

Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
# 3 12-09-2002 , 12:30 AM

Yep...

It worked easiest for me with birailing cv curves.

I'm having problems with Maya right now, but if you give me a day or so, I'll have a SMALL video tut for you to see how I did ituser added image

Israel "Izzy" Long
izzylong.com
# 4 12-09-2002 , 05:27 AM

Whoops...

Sorry Boomji, it looks like I forgot that Kevin has me on another video right now, so that mouse video will have to wait.