SimplyMaya

Welcome back to SimplyMaya. Check out our latest training here.

MAYA TUTORIALS
Please post in this section ONLY if your question doesn't fit in anywhere else on the forum, or if you're not sure which section it's relevant to. We also have Free streaming trial available.
 
Thread Tools
# 1 01-04-2020, 06:15 PM
kiidan
Registered User
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 2

Mesh becomes half-transparent and coloured black as if the normals are flipped

Title says it all.
For additional details, I will give you an image.

https://imgur.com/ZUMLvWE

Can someone tell me what happened and how to fix it? thanks.

# 2 02-04-2020, 05:45 AM
David's Avatar
David
SM Site Programmer
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,165
I've seen this before for me it was a gfx card driver issue. Try a driver update

What version of Maya are you using?


Worst Response To A Crisis:
From a readers' Q and A column in TV GUIDE: "If we get involved in a nuclear war, would the electromagnetic pulses from exploding bombs damage my videotapes?"
# 3 06-04-2020, 08:19 AM
kiidan
Registered User
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 2
graphics card update? it's odd. it happened only on this mesh and this mesh only. but still yeah I will do it.

I use version 2018.

# 4 06-04-2020, 11:41 AM
David's Avatar
David
SM Site Programmer
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,165
Couple of other things to try

Assign a new material to it. Sounds weird but I've seen this work before.

Export it out of the scene and reimport it into a new one. If you want to upload the scene I'd be happy to tell you if it does the same to me in Maya 2020

All the best
David


Worst Response To A Crisis:
From a readers' Q and A column in TV GUIDE: "If we get involved in a nuclear war, would the electromagnetic pulses from exploding bombs damage my videotapes?"
Posting Rules Forum Rules
You may not post new threads | You may not post replies | You may not post attachments | You may not edit your posts | BB code is On | Smilies are On | [IMG] code is On | HTML code is Off