Complex UV Layout in Maya
Over the last couple of years UV layout in Maya has changed for the better. In this course we're going to be taking a look at some of those changes as we UV map an entire character
# 1 29-03-2007 , 09:13 AM
Subscriber

NEED help with texture, (im newbie)

hello people, yes i have taken the leap of faith and i want to learn how to texture since i am new to it and would love to texture all my models i have created...

i have done some free easy tutorials but no success, it just dosnt work for me. can someone give me the easiers texture tutorials or even give me steps... also advice would be most welcome user added image

Thanks, marlon

# 2 29-03-2007 , 09:20 AM
Im totally new too, and know nothing about UV mapping etc. I simply just played around with lots of blinn and lambert materials and settings to see what results I got. maybe iv just been lucky but iv managed to get some half decent renders from it so far.

tho i really should look into more detail. haha

best advice is jsut go out and play about with it!

enjoy

robin

# 3 29-03-2007 , 09:29 AM
Have you tried laying out the UV's for a simple, six-sided cube? It may be incredibly boring and basic, but it gives you the general idea behind UV layout. If you have a "complex" creation, I'm afraid there's no easy way to learn it other than to dive on in and take a stab at it, keeping in mind what you know from laying out UV's on a cube. I say "complex," because complex can be as simple as a 3,000 poly game-res character!

Applying a checker texture can help vastly when laying out UV's.

I'm off to browse for UV layout tuts...

# 4 29-03-2007 , 10:13 AM
Subscriber
@ rcb25 - "I simply just played around with lots of blinn and lambert materials and settings to see what results I got."

yeah thats what i usual do user added image