SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Technical Issues / Rendering Issues
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-03-2008, 01:19 AM   #1
sunilgs
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 10
Default Rendering Issues

Im having a hard time rendering my scene. Only one object (a spaceship) in the scene shows up in my IPR window. The terrain and sky I have in my scene do not show up.

I added some lights, and everything is well illuminated when I press seven on my keyboard. Still only the space ship shows up. I batch rendered the scene, and only the spaceship showed up in my final movie.

Does anyone have any suggestions on how I can solve this problem?
sunilgs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2008, 03:18 AM   #2
sunilgs
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 10
Default

I forgot to mention a few details

I am running Maya 8.5
comp specs:

Macbook pro Intel Core 2 Duo, 2.2 GHz, 4GB ram, GeForce 8600M GT VRAM 128

To sum up my problem: I imported a spaceship into my scene, and now the only thing that is being rendered is the spaceship.
sunilgs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2008, 10:41 AM   #3
bendingiscool
Subscriber
 
bendingiscool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: London
Posts: 567
Default

How did you make the terrain/sky and how have you textured/shaded it? as you may be using the wrong renderer for the job.

Chris
bendingiscool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2008, 01:03 PM   #4
sunilgs
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 10
Default

Thanks for the reply

I made the terrain by using a polygon plane and the paint selectable tool. I added a fractal texture to it. The sky is made from a nurbs sphere, and paint fx. I cannot render these two items.

The ship that I imported is made out of polygon objects with a blinn material, and some glow effects. It renders just fine. I don't think this makes a difference but I have my spaceship set on a motion path.
sunilgs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2008, 06:26 PM   #5
sunilgs
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 10
Default

Okay everything in my scene has been rendered except for my paint fx. I am still having issues with it.

Anyone know reasons why paint fx cant be rendered?
sunilgs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2008, 01:54 AM   #6
white_lie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: denver, CO
Posts: 8
Default

i was having the same problem with the paint effects in my scene...i found out from another person on this site that if you are rendering using mental ray that the paint effects won't show up, the way around it is to use the render layers, and render out the different aspects of your scene.....
hope that makes sense.

kittens,
whitney
__________________
every tool is a weapon if you hold it right
white_lie is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off