SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / problems with displacement and normal maps

Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge Please post in this section ONLY if your question doesn't fit in anywhere else on the forum, or if you're not sure which section it's relevant to. We also have Free streaming trial available.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
18-12-2013, 07:27 PM   #1
mickhah
Registered User
 
mickhah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Dortmund, Germany
Posts: 227
problems with displacement and normal maps
hello. i have made a displacement and normal maps for a model, but they don't work as they should. firstly, the displacement map:


why is it chequered? the map itself doesnt have those squares.

secondly, displacement map and normal map applied:


the normal map is applied as "normal map in tangent space", but there are no small details. however, they appear when i'm applying the normal map as a bump map:


but this way the large details, like nostrils, look wrong.
can anyone explain to me, how it should be set up, so that everything looks good?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	displ.jpg
Views:	381
Size:	22.5 KB
ID:	55141   Click image for larger version

Name:	displAndNm.jpg
Views:	333
Size:	23.6 KB
ID:	55142   Click image for larger version

Name:	displAndNmAsBump.jpg
Views:	332
Size:	37.7 KB
ID:	55143  

Last edited by mickhah; 18-12-2013 at 10:22 PM.
  Reply with quote
20-12-2013, 11:25 PM   #2
CollinBishop
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Sliema Malta
Posts: 497
What is your alpha offset at in the displacement settings? ZBrush has diff settings than maya so the displ map needs certain settings.
  Reply with quote
21-12-2013, 12:51 AM   #3
mickhah
Registered User
 
mickhah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Dortmund, Germany
Posts: 227
i tried with minus one half offset, with 0 offset, with different other settings. nothing helped. i already made new map, exported directly from zbrush, and it works. but the main question stays - why are those small details only there if i apply normal map as a bump map?
  Reply with quote
21-12-2013, 03:52 AM   #4
CollinBishop
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Sliema Malta
Posts: 497
There is a setting in which you have to plug in the normal out and have it facing the camera. Is in setnormal function in the work area and this an extra attribute that will only be able to be plugged in this way. Will take some screen grabs if I have a chance to better explain. On iPad.....

Here is a blog that explains what I am saying better. Not how I learned but same concept.

http://matthewtan85.wordpress.com/tu...s-in-maya2011/

Last edited by Chavfister; 21-12-2013 at 03:56 AM.
  Reply with quote
23-12-2013, 12:36 PM   #5
mickhah
Registered User
 
mickhah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Dortmund, Germany
Posts: 227
it won't work for me. i'm using vray materials, there you don't need extra bump nodes.
those fine details are in my normal map, but somehow they are not rendered.

Last edited by mickhah; 23-12-2013 at 12:45 PM.
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Types of Maps Jordanpierreag Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 17 21-01-2014 03:05 AM
normal color bump displacement maps? Rhetoric Camel Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 0 18-03-2008 03:03 PM
Normal Map vs. Displacement Map Atomicdog Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 10 16-12-2005 12:14 PM
Displacement Maps Xander-0 Maya Materials & Textures 3 07-06-2005 09:35 PM
Maya 6 Normal Maps? swankymonkey Lighting & Rendering 7 27-11-2004 07:29 PM