SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Maya 8 :)

Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge Please post in this section ONLY if your question doesn't fit in anywhere else on the forum, or if you're not sure which section it's relevant to. We also have Free streaming trial available.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
 
Thread Tools
01-08-2006, 07:32 AM   #1
MainlineX
Registered User
 
MainlineX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Johannesburg
Posts: 641
Maya 8 :)
Heya Peeps,

Maya 8 on the way Have a looksee.....

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet...112&id=7635018
__________________

-------------------------------------------
  Reply with quote
01-08-2006, 08:36 AM   #2
relikz
Registered User
 
relikz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 157
Re: Maya 8 :)
Quote:
Originally posted by MainlineX
Heya Peeps,

Maya 8 on the way Have a looksee.....

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet...112&id=7635018
awesome... but then again not so awesome... the features aren't good enough to be a 1 full version upgrade


:p
__________________
~The Computer Is A Moron~

Last edited by relikz; 05-08-2006 at 12:49 PM.
  Reply with quote
01-08-2006, 12:31 PM   #3
kbrown
Moderator
 
kbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Hmm... To be honest I'm not very exited about the new features they list here:

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet...112&id=7635643

Nothing that I couldn't live without. I would have been a lot happier if the list contained a line saying "All old bugs and quirks have been fixed"...
__________________
Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
  Reply with quote
01-08-2006, 12:37 PM   #4
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Yeah Kbrown I agree, IMO it looks like its been rolled as Maya 8.0 more for getting autodesk's name on it.

Might be me being sinical.
  Reply with quote
01-08-2006, 02:11 PM   #5
traindog
Subscriber
 
traindog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Seoul, Korea.
Posts: 86
Maya working faster and addressing more memory sounds nice...but thats about it so far...
__________________
Sometimes you eat the bear...Sometimes the bear eats you...
Either way...shit happens

http://www.fadedseoul.com
  Reply with quote
01-08-2006, 02:43 PM   #6
vladimirjp
Subscriber
 
vladimirjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: stuck in the 90's boston, USA
Posts: 1,871
more like 7.5.... sheesh.

besides 64bit support, nothing really innovative but MR core.
but some handy features poly UV'ing and particle stuff.
its ready up for download for platinum members.
__________________
Image dump

Last edited by vladimirjp; 01-08-2006 at 03:57 PM.
  Reply with quote
01-08-2006, 09:44 PM   #7
BMS
Subscriber
 
BMS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Australia - Melbourne
Posts: 738
Man I'm still on Maya 6.0
  Reply with quote
02-08-2006, 01:27 AM   #8
G-Man
Subscriber
 
G-Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bowling Green. Kentucky U.S.A.
Posts: 810
Wodner if i'll be getting a e-mail from Autodesk about a free upgrade soon then?..
Just bought Maya 7.0 like a week or so ago, and the reseller told me that they'd probably give me a free upgrade if the mentioned the new release at Sig...
G
__________________
Follow My Business
On The Web!
Or
On Facebook!
  Reply with quote
02-08-2006, 08:22 AM   #9
happymat27
Subscriber
 
happymat27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,257
I'm agreeing that it's more of a roll out to get the Autodesk name recognized with the software. There's not enough there to make me want to spend what little cash I have on an upgrade!! I quite like the new logo though!!

Mat.
  Reply with quote
02-08-2006, 07:58 PM   #10
Jay
Lead Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,276
Mainline X

Holy crap dude, its been a while.


Maya 8, hhmmm!! waste of time, not alot really to be had there to want to make me upgrade.

But Zbrush 2.5, that makes up for it!! Check out the movies here and watch and wonder why Autodesk bothered with their effort...

http://www.pixolator.com/zbc/showthr...471#post292471

Plus us dudes who bought Zbrush 2.0 get a free upgrade, I do believe thats 2 FREE upgrades in 3 months for me Mwhahahahahaha!!



Cheers All
Jay
  Reply with quote
02-08-2006, 08:03 PM   #11
mmoore5553
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,043
cough ::: i think a dudettee cough ..bought jay's


sorry had to give credit to the lady lol

i had too jay lol
  Reply with quote
02-08-2006, 08:07 PM   #12
Jay
Lead Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,276
mmoore

Yeah shes a good girl LOL. Check those Zbrush movies, and feel your jaw drop into your lap


Cheers Dude

Jay
  Reply with quote
04-08-2006, 09:25 AM   #13
Mayastatic
Subscriber
 
Mayastatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: germany
Posts: 154
Hey, I donīt understand your comments.
Maya 8 is a fantastic program. THE BEST PROGRAM!!!
The features are awesome, when you look at that way.
It is normal that they donīt talk about buks and things we really donīt want. (I have maya since 4 months, but I know them all (in this short time)! Or talk you about your mistakes?
It is to early, to say we need a better program.
If anybody can tell me, only one needed feature, what we really wanīt in Maya, then i shot my mouth forever!
Maya is so big that nobody can be perfect in everything.
  Reply with quote
04-08-2006, 09:45 AM   #14
happymat27
Subscriber
 
happymat27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,257
I'm not really sure what you're trying to say there Mayastatic.

I think that the point that most of the people who have commented on the new version of Maya are trying to convey is that there are not enough new features to warrant a full version release, the upgrades that they have made are really more suited to a .5 release.

Most of the improvements they have made seem to be pointed at the Maya pipeline and productivity which will benefit a production company but have no great effect on improving the software from the operators perspective.

Incidently, how did you get hold of Maya 8 four months ago?

Regards,

Mat.
  Reply with quote
04-08-2006, 09:52 AM   #15
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
I think the point that people are making is that Maya 8's new features are not essential or really great upgrades to the programme from Maya 7 and therefore dosent really warrent the money for the upgrade, almost like people will upgrade just to have the Maya 8 name and not for the added features that it has. (although if 64 bit is a big issue for you then this could be a good feature)

If you have Maya 8 then you might know some big differences, in, say, speed, addressing memory etc that makes it much better than 7.0

Edit

Matt - Sorry for going over your point, I must have been typing whilst you posted

Last edited by gster123; 04-08-2006 at 09:57 AM.
  Reply with quote
Reply
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Issues for max to maya users bertvaneeckhout Maya Modeling 23 25-09-2014 09:36 PM
Question about Maya and windows 8 THX1138 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 0 27-01-2013 05:13 PM
trouble starting maya 2009 Typh Maya Technical Issues 2 03-01-2010 08:33 AM
Maya Doesn't Startup Properly - Just Script Editor threedsnack Maya Technical Issues 1 04-02-2008 11:55 AM
mb files from maya 8 in maya 7? Metallimoons Maya Technical Issues 8 22-09-2006 04:15 PM