SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / A few newbie questions re: animation basics

Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge Please post in this section ONLY if your question doesn't fit in anywhere else on the forum, or if you're not sure which section it's relevant to. We also have Free streaming trial available.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
01-07-2004, 09:08 PM   #1
Kaydray
Registered User
 
Kaydray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: rhode island, USA
Posts: 46
A few newbie questions re: animation basics
I'm trying (and mostly failing) to do some basic animation stuff...so i've got a few questions.

1. i'm doing a basic skeleton, so i've got a hip, knee, and ankle joint. i created an IK handle from the hip to the ankle- how can i now rotate the knee (on the z and x axes i suppose) without it all collapsing?

2. my skin weights tool is really slow...is that just always how it is or could i be doing something wrong?

3. mmmm i forgot the last question so i'll have to come back another time.

sorry if they're stupid questions (yes, yes, i know there is no such thing), but what kind of newbie would i be if they weren't?
__________________
-katie

"a foolish consistency is the hobgoblin of little minds." - rwe
  Reply with quote
01-07-2004, 09:29 PM   #2
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
1. place a locator or something in front of the knee. Select the locator, shift select the IK handle. Use Constraints > Pole Vector Constraint. Moving the locator will now move the knee orientation.

2. how much ram do you have? processor speed?
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
  Reply with quote
06-07-2004, 06:09 PM   #3
Kaydray
Registered User
 
Kaydray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: rhode island, USA
Posts: 46
1. thanks for the knee help!
2. 523,704 KB RAM; pentium 4 1.60GHz

and another question....
Do you know of an MD3 export plugin for Maya 6? i've found one for Maya 5.0, but no luck w/ 6.0
__________________
-katie

"a foolish consistency is the hobgoblin of little minds." - rwe
  Reply with quote
08-07-2004, 09:13 PM   #4
Kaydray
Registered User
 
Kaydray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: rhode island, USA
Posts: 46
Ok, forget md3 export for 6.0.

Instead- does anyone have any tips on exporting md3 files from Maya? (I'm now using maya 5.0)

I've baked the animation to the polymesh (or vertices, I suppose), triangulated the model, and....it won't export, and I'm not sure what else to do.
Eh?
__________________
-katie

"a foolish consistency is the hobgoblin of little minds." - rwe
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Creating A Thread for My Newbie Questions PenPixels Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 68 14-12-2011 09:42 AM
A couple of more animation questions ben hobden Animation 13 11-11-2010 11:41 AM
Animation Battle sspikedudley Battle Arena 18 13-08-2008 11:53 AM
Some Newbie, Some not-so Questions Phopojijo Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 5 28-09-2004 10:21 PM