SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Maya Questions / Maya Technical Issues / Maya stay's on default settings

Maya Technical Issues Post all your interface and configuration related problems with Maya software here.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
30-12-2009, 11:06 AM   #1
Johndoe050
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 78
Maya stay's on default settings
Hi,

Maya doesn't seem to remember my settings. For instance with the creat a polygon. I turned the interactive creation mode off. But everytime i restart maya it is turned on again. Any of you know what to do?
  Reply with quote
30-12-2009, 11:45 AM   #2
effacer
Registered User
 
effacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kathmandu, Nepal
Posts: 108
check if u got "save all preferences and settings when Maya exits" option on, under preferences>Save Actions
__________________
projects of my company
3D
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uPTmThoCrIY&feature=related - project - disney diwali (india based company)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JSAfzqMBHqs&feature=related - project - 2 medhak (Public Service Ad)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lMLR2L-swZo - project - ace bank commercial
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZogNsf8k-xU - project - company Profile
2D
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=82xV3bII9bU - project - (a fren named jimmy)
  Reply with quote
30-12-2009, 11:52 AM   #3
Johndoe050
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 78
Hi effacer.

I can only find a "Save preferences" option under File. And when i click it is gives me a purple warningbox down right which reads: "Warning: Not all preferences were saved. See Script Editor for details." And it doesn't save my settings. I have the Maya 2009 unlimited edition.
  Reply with quote
30-12-2009, 11:57 AM   #4
effacer
Registered User
 
effacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kathmandu, Nepal
Posts: 108
no not that. go to windows>settings/preferences>preferences>..
a window will pop up. then under settings>Save actions, check the "Save all ...... Maya exits"
__________________
projects of my company
3D
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uPTmThoCrIY&feature=related - project - disney diwali (india based company)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JSAfzqMBHqs&feature=related - project - 2 medhak (Public Service Ad)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lMLR2L-swZo - project - ace bank commercial
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZogNsf8k-xU - project - company Profile
2D
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=82xV3bII9bU - project - (a fren named jimmy)
  Reply with quote
30-12-2009, 12:46 PM   #5
Johndoe050
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 78
They are both toggled on. The "Save all preferences and settings when maya exits" and "Save script editor contents when maya exits"

But it doesn't save.
  Reply with quote
30-12-2009, 12:49 PM   #6
Johndoe050
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 78
It is the same story for the popup window with the learning movies when i start maya. I have the "Do not show this at startup" box thicked but every time i restart it pops up again.
  Reply with quote
31-12-2009, 08:45 AM   #7
effacer
Registered User
 
effacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kathmandu, Nepal
Posts: 108
try deleting the preference folder under :

C:\Users\(username)\Documents\maya\(MayaVersion)

close Maya and try deleting all these folders. Now start Maya again. This might help.
__________________
projects of my company
3D
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uPTmThoCrIY&feature=related - project - disney diwali (india based company)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JSAfzqMBHqs&feature=related - project - 2 medhak (Public Service Ad)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lMLR2L-swZo - project - ace bank commercial
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZogNsf8k-xU - project - company Profile
2D
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=82xV3bII9bU - project - (a fren named jimmy)
  Reply with quote
31-12-2009, 11:42 AM   #8
Johndoe050
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 78
Wow. It worked. Now i can finally make my own shelf.

Thank you Effacer.
  Reply with quote
31-12-2009, 06:13 PM   #9
effacer
Registered User
 
effacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kathmandu, Nepal
Posts: 108
:attn: :attn: :attn:
__________________
projects of my company
3D
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uPTmThoCrIY&feature=related - project - disney diwali (india based company)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JSAfzqMBHqs&feature=related - project - 2 medhak (Public Service Ad)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lMLR2L-swZo - project - ace bank commercial
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZogNsf8k-xU - project - company Profile
2D
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=82xV3bII9bU - project - (a fren named jimmy)
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP PLEASE Dushyant Maya Technical Issues 12 25-08-2012 08:49 AM
Maya - render settings: orange nov2011 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 31-01-2012 10:15 PM
changing the "Quick help" window size in the maya 2012 script editor. Jouri Programming 3 27-11-2011 06:15 AM
Maya Not Loading on Virtual Machine drgraphics Maya Technical Issues 2 31-01-2010 09:33 PM
trouble starting maya 2009 Typh Maya Technical Issues 2 03-01-2010 08:33 AM