Substance Painter
In this start to finish texturing project within Substance Painter we cover all the techniques you need to texture the robot character.
# 1 22-03-2014 , 06:58 PM

Triangles to quads through Transfer Attributes - need an advice?

Hello! I am a newbie in Maya and need your advice to solve one practical problem. I need to convert triangulated meshes of 3D clothing into quads and I'm trying to do it thru Maya with no success yet. Meshes were generated by Marvelous Designer software and look like this -
user added image
I attempted to convert it thru Z Brush Q-Remesher but got inaccurate curved topology without Uv mapping. Someone of MD users found such a decision -
Zbrush should still be useful. Just output the meshes flat, then run the quad mesher on them. Then the UV?s can be projected straight from the originals to the new quad mesh. Then the new meshes can be wrapped back into it?s 3d form. using the same UV projection.
But as i know it cannot be done in Zbrush, but thru Maya only. I found one method described and it sounds like this-
did a bit of testing and actually found a pretty straight forward way of getting quads and keeping the UVs from Marvelous Designer. You might have to do a few minutes of merging vertices by hand in Maya but in the end it's very fast.