Introduction to Maya - Modeling Fundamentals Vol 1
This course will look at the fundamentals of modeling in Maya with an emphasis on creating good topology. We'll look at what makes a good model in Maya and why objects are modeled in the way they are.
# 1 10-06-2010 , 10:34 AM
Subscriber

3d building for game environment

Hello everyone,
I’m quite new to creating buildings for game environments as I usually build characters, a few weeks ago I made my first building (https://srv01.simply3dworld.com/showt...threadid=34110) and it was ok but the UV layout was totally wrong.
I have recently created a new building with UV’s that are layed out better then my previous attempt, for repeated parts of the model I have reused the textures (windows, walls and doors).
At this point I will do some more editing to the geometry to save more polygons.
Anyway please check out my screen grabs and share any suggestions.
Thanks

Attached Thumbnails
# 2 10-06-2010 , 12:19 PM
The thin red line
looks good to me but I must admit I do not know a lot about game environment are you going to bake norm,texture map to a low res mesh to reduce the poly count, just a question..........dave

# 3 10-06-2010 , 01:48 PM
Subscriber
Hi Dave, at the moment I'm going to just use colour map and spec map.

# 4 10-06-2010 , 09:30 PM
Subscriber
for something that is for a game environment i'd say that's a lot more faces than you need
the main building itself you could get away with by just straight out transformed cubes and then if the windows need to be indented then do that by normal maps, provided the game engine you're porting to supports that

that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
# 5 11-06-2010 , 12:42 AM
Technical Director