SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Your Work / Finished Work / What I've been up to

Finished Work Completed artwork goes in this section.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
 
Thread Tools
04-12-2012, 02:16 AM   #1
NextDesign
Technical Director
 
NextDesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,988
What I've been up to
Here's what I've been up to for the last few months. Besides working full-time as a character TD, and pipeline TD, I've had some time to do a bit of freelance work. This is the result; The full model sits at 1.23 GB with full sculpted detail, as well as four 4k texture maps.



__________________
Imagination is more important than knowledge.
  Reply with quote
04-12-2012, 03:34 AM   #2
Kurt
Registered User
 
Kurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Niagara Falls, Canada
Posts: 5,310
Very nice.....
__________________
I am enough of an artist to draw freely upon my imagination, knowledge is limited, imagination encircles the world. (Albert Einstein)

https://www.artstation.com/kurtb
  Reply with quote
04-12-2012, 05:13 AM   #3
Gen
Super Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,513
Very nice indeed. Looks like Sarah Wayne Callies.
__________________
- Genny
__________________
::|| My CG Blog ||::
::|| My Maya FAQ ||::
  Reply with quote
04-12-2012, 05:21 AM   #4
NextDesign
Technical Director
 
NextDesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,988
Close up of the ear:

The final ear was down-ressed a bit from this version, but I tried to maintain the same edge flow.
__________________
Imagination is more important than knowledge.

Last edited by NextDesign; 04-12-2012 at 05:31 AM.
  Reply with quote
04-12-2012, 10:46 AM   #5
MamoruK
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 496
did u actually need that hi res of a model? Why not use the Subdiv Approx?
  Reply with quote
04-12-2012, 02:09 PM   #6
NextDesign
Technical Director
 
NextDesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,988
As I said in the topology thread, It's based on scan data, and I try to avoid sculpting as much as possible. I wanted to preserve as much detail as possible from the scan, and we would have smoothed the mesh anyways, so I built it at this resolution. This resolution is quite typical for scan-based models. The reason why you build models at low resolution normally, is so that you can tweak the model easily. Since we already have all the shapes from the scan data, we can simply use that. Plus, if I really needed to, I could go in and delete a few edge loops, and have a lower resolution mesh just like that.
__________________
Imagination is more important than knowledge.

Last edited by NextDesign; 04-12-2012 at 02:12 PM.
  Reply with quote
04-12-2012, 04:43 PM   #7
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,374
Can I ask what your workflow was for retopologizing? I assume the scan data didn't give you this topology.
  Reply with quote
04-12-2012, 05:42 PM   #8
NextDesign
Technical Director
 
NextDesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,988
Quote:
Can I ask what your workflow was for retopologizing? I assume the scan data didn't give you this topology.
No it didn't. As Mudbox lacks any type of topology tool, and I don't own zBrush, this was done manually using make live, and a couple of scripts that I wrote.
__________________
Imagination is more important than knowledge.
  Reply with quote
04-12-2012, 07:44 PM   #9
Gen
Super Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,513
Quote:
No it didn't. As Mudbox lacks any type of topology tool, and I don't own zBrush, this was done manually using make live, and a couple of scripts that I wrote.
I've seen make live used for that. How's that treating you, you know, along with the scripts?
__________________
- Genny
__________________
::|| My CG Blog ||::
::|| My Maya FAQ ||::
  Reply with quote
04-12-2012, 08:29 PM   #10
NextDesign
Technical Director
 
NextDesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,988
Quote:
I've seen make live used for that. How's that treating you, you know, along with the scripts?
Bearable, but just...
__________________
Imagination is more important than knowledge.
  Reply with quote
04-12-2012, 10:18 PM   #11
Jay
Lead Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,276
Good job John, I thought it was a scan from the very first image, the skull cap and tilt in the neck were an instant giveaway, still a nice job on the retopo....

You should of downloaded a 30day trial of 3dcoat, it works fine and saves and exports too even for the trial version, you could have the model done in a day from using that, including a very rough yet useable uv layout as it maps it accordingly as you model, I use 3d coat on all our scan data at work, its super fast

Jay
  Reply with quote
05-12-2012, 04:34 AM   #12
NextDesign
Technical Director
 
NextDesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,988
Hey Jay, thanks mate!

Regarding 3d-coat; yeah I gave it a go. The ear was actually based on an output of autopo. (Really cool btw) However by the time I started looking into it deeply, I was already 80% of the way through, and had already written custom scripts to help speed it up.

Eh, doing it the hard way makes you respect the easy way
__________________
Imagination is more important than knowledge.
  Reply with quote
05-12-2012, 01:05 PM   #13
daverave
The thin red line
 
daverave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: England
Posts: 4,472
Have you any shots of the mesh before you cleaned it up.....................dave
__________________


Avatar Challenge Winner 2010
  Reply with quote
05-12-2012, 03:33 PM   #14
NextDesign
Technical Director
 
NextDesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,988
Here's the scan data. I had manipulated it so that it's in a more neutral pose. As you can see, the ear was unusable, and very little detail in the eyes. All that was added in later.

__________________
Imagination is more important than knowledge.

Last edited by NextDesign; 05-12-2012 at 03:35 PM.
  Reply with quote
05-12-2012, 05:02 PM   #15
ctbram
Moderator
 
ctbram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 2,997
Looks really good John.

I have been playing with retopo in 3D-Coat and Dynamesh in ZBrush. I am researching a Maya to ZBrush (dynamesh and Booleans) to 3D-Coat (retopo) workflow for creating highly detailed hard surface poly shapes.
__________________
"If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants." Sir Isaac Newton, 1675
  Reply with quote