Introduction to Maya - Rendering in Arnold
This course will look at the fundamentals of rendering in Arnold. We'll go through the different light types available, cameras, shaders, Arnold's render settings and finally how to split an image into render passes (AOV's), before we then reassemble it i
# 1 20-04-2012 , 11:44 AM

polygon edges appear smooth

hi guys,

i have a problem: i'm modelling a car at the moment, i built the rough surfaces in nurbs and then converted them to polys. sometimes a strange thing happens: after i combine two patches and merge the verteces together, the edge is rendered smooth in the viewport. in the pictures below, you can see that sometimes it only appears partial as well... i know it has to be a problem with the normals, because when i average them, everything appears smooth, but thats not what i want...the face normals all point in the same direction.

do you have any clue? maybe its a stupid problem, but i'm quite new to maya...

thanks a lot!

user added image

user added image

# 2 20-04-2012 , 12:43 PM
Technical Director
Hi poogle,

Is this for a game? If it's for a high resolution render, you'll want to put tight bevels on the areas that you want to keep sharp, then smooth your object.

If it's for a game, you can automatically make certain edges over a given angle hard. Go to Normals>Set normal angle, and play with this value. Looking at your image, I would start around 50 degrees.

Imagination is more important than knowledge.
# 3 20-04-2012 , 12:53 PM
thanks for your reply!

the model is for design visualisation purposes... the next step would be to insert edge-loops to the edges that should remain tight. the problem is, that the viewport doesnt show smooth mesh preview but normal polygons...and also i didnt mess around with subd proxy or anything like that. plus it only concerns some edges, not all. then why are these edges smoothed out in the viewport?

appreciate your help!

# 4 20-04-2012 , 01:00 PM
Technical Director