SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / maya UV snapshot -1 to 1 UVs space.

Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge Please post in this section ONLY if your question doesn't fit in anywhere else on the forum, or if you're not sure which section it's relevant to. We also have Free streaming trial available.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
26-06-2010, 06:51 AM   #1
pixel_poison
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 30
maya UV snapshot -1 to 1 UVs space.
Hey all, Just wondering how do you go about taking a UV snapshot from - 1 U to 1 U and 0 to 1 V space. * not sure if ive explained it properly.

bascially i want to take a 1024x512 UV snapshot.

Thanks.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	uvsnapshothelp.jpg
Views:	740
Size:	191.1 KB
ID:	44371  
  Reply with quote
26-06-2010, 02:48 PM   #2
jsprogg
Lifetime Member
 
jsprogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,710
the texture actually repeats outside the 0-1 space so having UV's outside it although it is possible is not general practice . To take any size UV snap shot you want (Maya doesnt like textures over 4K much) , select UVsnapshot under the polygon menu in the UV texture editor and you can choose the resolution in the window that pops up.You can also set the range here too (0-1 or entire space or user specified).
__________________


2 x Modeling Challenge Winner
  Reply with quote
27-06-2010, 09:55 PM   #3
Jay
Lead Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,279
This is pretty common practice in the film industry because of resolution on screen, its because the textures need to be sharp, even a 4k texture on 1 tile wont stand up alot of the time on screen, so models have to have their uvs spread and made bigger and the best way is to tile it like this. I can safely tell you that we are using 25+ tiles for some models. It can be a nightmare putting the uv layout together, and on top of that they all have to share the same ratio.

cheers
Jay
  Reply with quote
27-06-2010, 10:45 PM   #4
jsprogg
Lifetime Member
 
jsprogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,710
hehe Jay i know its common in the film industry which is why i said its possible but i didnt want to get into an explanation of putting it together as its a bit complicated for a newbie to grasp i thought .
__________________


2 x Modeling Challenge Winner
  Reply with quote
27-06-2010, 10:50 PM   #5
Jay
Lead Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,279
hehehe yeah true.

sorry mate, went off on one a bit.

hope all is well

Jay
  Reply with quote
27-06-2010, 11:38 PM   #6
jsprogg
Lifetime Member
 
jsprogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,710
yeah all is ok i got married this week ..hehe
__________________


2 x Modeling Challenge Winner
  Reply with quote
28-06-2010, 04:00 AM   #7
pixel_poison
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 30
okies kool, i got it.

Thanks
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Exporting UV data from Maya fanaticlatic Programming 0 26-11-2014 01:27 PM
New laptop? IllusionOfLife Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 3 17-08-2014 10:42 PM
Copying 2 UV sets into 1 mayaMan1982 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 5 05-04-2005 06:19 AM
Using 2 UV sets - 1 for skin 1 for UVs Mr_Skinner Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 0 14-02-2005 10:29 AM
fur rendering failed????? olivermagno Maya Materials & Textures 2 21-05-2003 01:36 AM