SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Maya Questions / Maya Materials & Textures / 2 Materials onto 1 object?

Maya Materials & Textures Shaders, Textures & UV Layout

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
16-10-2003, 05:20 PM   #1
ade90054
Registered User
 
ade90054's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: England
Posts: 143
2 Materials onto 1 object?
Hi, could someone please tell me how I can easily apply 2 different shaders onto 1 object, say a poly plane, apply 1 shader to one set of faces on one side and another on the other side?

Many thanks
  Reply with quote
16-10-2003, 05:26 PM   #2
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Select the faces, right click on the material in the Hypershade, Assign to Selected.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
  Reply with quote
16-10-2003, 05:37 PM   #3
GreyFox
Registered User
 
GreyFox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 242
You can also drag to the selected face.
__________________
WIP: Marine | Orc | Zulu Units for Civ3 |
  Reply with quote
17-10-2003, 11:11 AM   #4
ade90054
Registered User
 
ade90054's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: England
Posts: 143
Not Quite!
Thanks but that's not quite what I meant, try this for example: Create a poly plane, try and select the faces of one side of the plane and apply a shader, next try and select the other side and apply a different shader to it? The problem is you don't seem to be able to select the other side as the faces from the first side are considered by maya to be the same as the reverse! I think that makes some kinda sense? Any ideas?? THX, James.
__________________
"1.21 GIGAWATTS"
  Reply with quote
17-10-2003, 01:50 PM   #5
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
sounds like you'd want a very thin cube rather than a plane. It is possible to do what you ask, but it's a lot of trouble in my opinion.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
  Reply with quote
17-10-2003, 05:39 PM   #6
ade90054
Registered User
 
ade90054's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: England
Posts: 143
Cheers!
Yeah i know mtmckinley, but I was set the task by a friend of mine, we seem to have challenged each other to a kind of competition, he thinks of a task for my to do and when I've done it I throw one back at him. Quite fun and good way to learn I thought?
__________________
"1.21 GIGAWATTS"
  Reply with quote
20-10-2003, 07:16 PM   #7
dave_baer
Moderator
 
dave_baer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Plantation, Florida
Posts: 1,568
Quote:
we seem to have challenged each other to a kind of competition, he thinks of a task for my to do and when I've done it I throw one back at him. Quite fun and good way to learn I thought?
That's the purpose of out CHALLENGES forum. Want some good challenges, take part in one of ours.

What you're trying to do can't be done. When you apply a shader to geometry, it applies it to both sides of it. In the case of a plane, both sides will have the same shader applied to it. Thus, if you have text in the texture, it will read normal on one side but reversed on the other. That's just the way Maya works. You could go the route of what Mike said and create a very thin cube. That way, it will have two physical sides instead of one and you can apply two different shaders to each side.

__________________
Dave Baer
Professor of Digital Arts
Digital Media Arts College
Boca Raton, Florida
dbaer@dmac.edu
  Reply with quote
20-10-2003, 07:31 PM   #8
ade90054
Registered User
 
ade90054's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: England
Posts: 143
" What you're trying to do can't be done "

I think it can, your right about the text thing but there must be a way round this, i'm working on it at the moment, i'll keep ya posted ( If I succeed that is! ) Thanks anyway
__________________
"1.21 GIGAWATTS"
  Reply with quote
20-10-2003, 07:35 PM   #9
dave_baer
Moderator
 
dave_baer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Plantation, Florida
Posts: 1,568
Make sure you post images if you do it.

__________________
Dave Baer
Professor of Digital Arts
Digital Media Arts College
Boca Raton, Florida
dbaer@dmac.edu
  Reply with quote
20-10-2003, 10:24 PM   #10
Dann
Registered User
 
Dann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 695
Try this tutorial

http://caad.arch.ethz.ch/info/maya/m...m4.html#998041

Let us know if it works.
  Reply with quote
22-10-2003, 06:31 PM   #11
RickStefani
Registered User
 
RickStefani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 658
I know Max has a material called two sided which does what you are trying to do. I am curious to why you would want to. A surface is an infinately thin sheet and averything in the real world should have a little thicknes to get an edge high light. Also it is very unforgiving if anything interacts with it.
  Reply with quote
22-10-2003, 06:39 PM   #12
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
What Dann suggested is the only way I know of. Like I said, kind of a pain.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
  Reply with quote
24-10-2003, 03:55 AM   #13
NitroLiq
Moderator
 
NitroLiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,133
There's an alternative method of connecting your initial textures if you're using the tutorial mentioned above. Instead of connecting each texture's Out Color attribute to the condition utility's Color 1 and color 2 attributes, try this instead:

Connect the outer texture to the condition node's "colorIfTrue" attribute. Then do the same for the texture you want on the inside, except connect it to the condition node's "colorIfFalse" attribute. So in a few short steps, here's the whole thing:

1. Create a blinn, a condition node, and two textures (in my example below, a wood texture and checkerboard).

2. Middle-mouse drag and drop the condition utility node onto the blinn and choose "color".

3. Now, connect the textures (mmb, click and drag) as I mentioned above. If we want the wood on the outside of our object (the direction the normals are facing), you'll connect that to the condition utility's "colorIfTrue" attribute. The blinn will take on the color of whichever you have plugged into "coloriftrue." So, connect the other texture to the condition node's "colorIfFalse".

4. Create a sampler info node and middle-mouse drag and drop it on the condition node and choose "other" which will open the connection editor. Connect Sampler Info's "Flipped Normal" into the condition's "First Term" and you should be good to go.
Attached Images
 
__________________
"Terminat Bora Diem, Terminal Auctor opus."

Last edited by NitroLiq; 24-10-2003 at 12:53 PM.
  Reply with quote
24-10-2003, 05:51 PM   #14
ade90054
Registered User
 
ade90054's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: England
Posts: 143
Nice!
Excellent dude, just tried that one out and it worked perfectly! cheers mate I just love the way there's nearly always a work around for just about everthing in maya!

Thanks again, James.
__________________
"1.21 GIGAWATTS"
  Reply with quote
05-05-2015, 07:14 PM   #15
michifeuz
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1
it's been quiet a while... but still helpful.
thanks a lot!

m
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MEL line SelectToggleMode; not working Skalman Maya Technical Issues 1 13-04-2017 10:26 AM
Interiors and Furniture Volumes 1 and 2 bellmore Simply Maya Tutorials 2 19-07-2016 11:33 PM
Maya->Indigo0.5.3/0.5.4 Exporter Script MattTheMan Programming 186 19-06-2008 09:10 AM
Maya 5.0.1 Problem: MentalRay won't load neoarcadia Maya Technical Issues 3 30-12-2003 02:05 AM
Part 1 & 2 of the VIP hand Modeling Tutorial Kevin Maya Modeling 17 12-10-2002 09:28 PM