Complex UV Layout in Maya
Over the last couple of years UV layout in Maya has changed for the better. In this course we're going to be taking a look at some of those changes as we UV map an entire character
# 1 03-03-2012 , 09:14 AM

a small abandoned room

Hi!
I am working in maya and am trying to make a small 3d environment, a small abandoned room to learn texturing and lighting, both I find very difficult. So basically I started from here,

user added image

I tried to make a little composition, and employed stained glass for this. (I have yet to do mirrors, this image is for checking)

Then on 2nd day I improved it to this...

user added image

I am doing lighting and texturing more or less together. I get carried away while working on both sides. user added image
It was not looking realistic at all, I thought it was giving a cartoony/gamey look, so I tried to improve on it and ended with this so far.

user added image

I have yet to complete my texturing, I have no experience in environments making and its more or less my first go.
Any help would be appreciated mainly whether I am heading toward a right direction or not, and what more should I do to make it look better! user added image user added image

Last edited by Zainab07; 03-03-2012 at 04:00 PM.
# 2 03-03-2012 , 09:36 AM
The thin red line
The two things you need to fix first is the glass just does not look right, have a look at some real droken windows. The second thing is the chair, new chair in old room does not look right also about the chair it has to straight edges needs some bevels. I do like your textures.............dave

# 3 03-03-2012 , 10:06 AM
thanks Dave! I'll be posting updates here time and again, I'd appreciate if you keep checking it too user added image