SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Importing from 3D Studio Max

Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge Please post in this section ONLY if your question doesn't fit in anywhere else on the forum, or if you're not sure which section it's relevant to. We also have Free streaming trial available.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
05-01-2009, 12:38 AM   #1
simo311
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5
Importing from 3D Studio Max
I'm trying to import a logo into maya that i've made in 3d studio max. The logo was originally an illustrator file that i extruded etc.

I have the bonus tools for maya and have successfully imported other objects exported as .3ds files no problem. However when I import my logo (and now other files as well) maya automatically curves/rounds all the objects when they should be left straight.

is there a setting for imports which is causing this or something?

Also tried other file formats such as .dxf dwg. etc. all with the same result.

Any ideas?
Thanks
  Reply with quote
05-01-2009, 02:35 AM   #2
99GsTurbo
Subscriber
 
99GsTurbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Boston
Posts: 566
export the max file as obj....when it brings up the exporting presets...use the maya preset and then you should be able to export that obj and import it into maya with no problem
__________________
Toyota Supra WIP


I create feeling in others that they themseleves donít understand.
  Reply with quote
06-01-2009, 04:12 PM   #3
simo311
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5
Thanks, one part of my logo still went a bit weird, but got it sorted. Great Job!
  Reply with quote
06-01-2009, 08:44 PM   #4
99GsTurbo
Subscriber
 
99GsTurbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Boston
Posts: 566
usually if its wierd when exporting...its due to faces being backwards....on max, turn on backface culling and make sure all the faces are pointed in the right direction. if not, to reverse a face, go into your modofiers drop down list and choose the "normals" modifier and that will reverse the faces on the object you select...then try reexporting it...
__________________
Toyota Supra WIP


I create feeling in others that they themseleves donít understand.
  Reply with quote
06-01-2009, 10:20 PM   #5
simo311
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5
hey thanks, it worked perfectly, don't suppose your a wiz with animation.

I have my character animated running on the spot. is it possible/how do i, import it into a different scene and then make him run along the level i.e. run on the spot (locally) whilst being translated across the scene.

Thanks
  Reply with quote
06-01-2009, 10:25 PM   #6
99GsTurbo
Subscriber
 
99GsTurbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Boston
Posts: 566
sorry, I dont know a thing about animation...only modeling.......if no one answers ur question here, try posting at cgtalk.com ...most of the ppl here are maya users but over there you are bound to have someone be able to help. good luck
__________________
Toyota Supra WIP


I create feeling in others that they themseleves donít understand.

Last edited by 99GsTurbo; 06-01-2009 at 10:29 PM.
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why Maya? haka Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 21 10-11-2007 11:14 PM
Maya 6.0 Complete Vs 3D Studio Max 7 Supra Devil Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 34 27-02-2005 06:55 AM
MeshSmooth : Maya vs 3D Studio Max Mr_Ridd Maya Modeling 8 11-09-2004 04:17 PM
maya and 3d max salios Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 8 29-06-2004 02:48 PM
Importing 3D Max File clebo99 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 5 13-03-2004 07:29 PM